Crustless Bacon and Cheese Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I halved the recipe to see if we'd like it and also because I didn't have a full dozen eggs. I only had five eggs, but everything came out great. I chopped 2 green onions and 1/2 tomato. Fried 6 slices bacon, drained and chopped it. 1/2 c. fresh sliced mushrooms fried in 1 T. bacon grease along with 1/2 small grated zucchini 2 min. then added the onion and tomato another 2 min. I also took 3 hash brown patties and cooked them a few min. in the microwave since they were frozen, then crumbled them in the bottom of the greased dish. I poured on the 5 eggs and 3 T. sour cream that I whisked, then topped with the bacon/veg. mix and 1/2 c. ea. of cheddar and mozzerella. I forgot to add the rest of the tomato and onion later as garnish, but it was fine. I baked it 30 min. Everyone loved it for dinner, and I'll be making it again. I can see making a full recipe of this and keeping it in the fridge for people to serve themselves for breakfast (reheated in microwave) since it has everything (hash browns, eggs, bacon, veggies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I served this to friends for brunch yesterday...with a few changes. Eliminated tomatoes, added diced sweet red pepper and a can of diced green chiles, substituted canadian bacon for the regular bacon. I also used mexican cheese blend in place of the other cheeses. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This crustless quiche is a great low(er) fat alternative. Its a very tasty recipe, and you can add veggies or more meat, and cater it to your liking. Excellent recipe!! Everyone ate seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I've made quite a few of these "oven omelets" and this one is pretty much the same as others. That does not mean, however, that the recipe is not a successful, well-written recipe, or that we enjoyed it any less. I didn't have any mushrooms, so the zucchini option is what I chose. I also added some fresh, minced garlic. Also, I found it much easier to dice the bacon before cooking it, then adding the vegetables to the pan to continue the couple of extra minutes cooking time. This baked omelet made for a colorful, festive and satisfying breakfast I'd be pleased to make again - but when and if I do, it will be at a baking temperature of 350 degrees, not 325. I have now tried baked omelets using both temperatures, and now know the center sets better at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Oh my word, this was wonderful. Everyone raved about it. We had just enough left over that we had it for breakfast the following morning and even though I though it was impossible, it was better the second day than it was the first. Rest assured I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Speckhals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this for Easter brunch and it was pretty good. Since I'm not a mushroom lover, I omitted them, and added 1.5 cups each of the cheese (actually I just grated too much so threw the rest in because we LOVE cheese). And since I live in a high altitude city, I cooked it 15 minutes longer than suggested. My daughter and husband each gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This is good! I scaled this recipe to 8 servings and made it in an 8" springform pan. It was a little flatter than I expected - even after adding more vegetables - so I might go ahead with the 12 serving amount next time if I'm using the springform. I added some fresh basil and black pepper to this, as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Mr P. has decided to go on the Fatkins diet, so made this today for him to snack on throughout the week. The end result tastes great, but one thing - p'raps all you cooks out there can help me with this? - it rose beautifully in the oven, but when I took it out it collapsed into a sort of sad and wrinkled heap. However, as I said, still tastes yummy - thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupin Pooter
Home Town: Sherborne, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
so Yummy! I am on a low carb diet and have a hard time finding good stuff that's good for me for breakfast. This is just the ticket! I added fresh ground pepper, salt, granulated garlic and paprika to the egg mixture before pouring in the pan, as I feared it might be too plain. I also used bacon bits, fresh spinach and heavy whipping cream instead of sour cream (was all I had). Came out of the oven wonderfully fluffy and delish!!! This is my new favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My family isn't the typical breakfast food for supper kind, but everyone really liked this, and said I should put it in the rotation. I like how versatile it is in terms of being able to add the meats and vegetables that suit those you're serving it to. I should add that I broiled this dish for a few minutes at the end of the baking time to melt/brown up the cheese on top. Thanks for a quick, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States