Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Turned out great! I added some Italian seasoning for my turkey pot pie plus put some butter on top. It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Easy, simple. Came out flaky, just like I wanted. I did prick the bottom with a fork and throw it in the oven for 5 min (425) by itself before loading with pot pie. I can't say how much it helped, but the bottom wasn't the least bit soggy. (Once I filled it, I brought the heat down to 400 and cooked for 30 min with foil on the edges, 30 min without). THANKS! I will use this instead of buying for sure. EDIT: I've used this a second time, prebaking the bottom, and then just putting the top on without foil for 30 min, watching until it browned up. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Been making this crust since 1954 and it's never failed. Perfect for Pot Pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I thought this was easy in everyday. I used this recipe to make pie crust strips for a soup. I made a few changes but I think it would be good the original way. Here is what I did...1 C whole wheat flour. 1 C White, 2/3 C butter, 7T water, 1T white vinegar, mixed in my stand mixer, rolled out, cut into 4 inch by 1/2 inch strips (approx), sprinkled w/salt, baked at 450 Degrees 6 to 8 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This crust was perfect with the Chicken Pot Pie recipe. Could test out some savory spices with it, add garlic powder, onion powder, and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Perfect crust! If it were socially acceptable to eat this alone, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Super easy for my duck pot pie, I'll be saving this recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Very good. Kids loved it. I refrigerated before rolling while I made my pot pie filling. Rolled out perfectly; easier than the one I had been making before. Will be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is the second time trying for me and I must say, it worked like magic! I used less than 2/3 cup of canola oil instead of shortening. Perfect! The crust was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
perfect for a crust that's not too complex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States