Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent!! I thought about saving time and using a chilled roll of crust. But must contain LARD---YUCK. This crust was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scmom3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
A wonderful pie crust! I have used this with both butter and shortening and it turned out great both times. A truly wonderful addition to any pot pie! I'll never buy a crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Really bland, and very dry texture. Also very hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Perfect pie crust! Easy to make and very delicious. I would make 1.5x the recipe for the veggie pot pie. That way the crust can be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made chicken pot pie with friends last night using this recipe for the crust (used butter instead of shortening, though) and it turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I didn't have the "correct" ingredients on hand. I followed the measurements but used self-rising flour and butter and just omitted the salt. The crust was so wonderful and I think would make an excellent biscuit recipe as well. As mentioned in previous reviews, letting the dough set does make for easier rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I had a specific taste in mind that I hoped this recipe would mimic when I used this crust in my chicken potpie recipe. I was hoping this recipe would produce that taste and it did! I am not a fan of pre-packaged pie crusts and can't stand them in fruity pies so I didn't want to try one in my potpie like most of the recipes on this site call for. I am SO happy I took the time to make this crust. It is the BEST! Instead of shortening, I did use the Smart Balance "butter" sticks I had on hand (2/3 cup as called for). This was SO delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharJ
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Easy, tasty, and got the job done right! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Absolutely the best pot pie crust. It is so flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I really liked this crust. I think shortening makes much better crusts than butter. I made it using about a pound of leftover pot roast with the potatoes and carrots in a 9x9 pan. I also brushed a mix of egg and water on the top for a golden crust. My husband loved it and said I could make this whenever I want. I will definitely use this crust in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States