Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a quick and easy pie crust that results in a very flaky crust. While my husband enjoyed the flavor, I was sensitive to the shortening taste. I prefer the taste of a butter crust, but it's difficult to give up the flakiness that shortening imparts. I will be looking for a recipe that incorporates both ingredients but will keep this one in mind. It worked well with my chicken pot pie and that shortening taste is my own personal pickiness and has nothing to do with the quality of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made chicken pot pie IX and usually use a frozen crust but was halfway through preparing it when I realized I didn't have one in the freezer after all. I used this as a substitute and will not be buying them frozen for pot pie any more...it made all the difference. I rolled it into a bottom crust and used a pizza cutter to make strips to weave across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very flaky, goes well with chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Super, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I am shocked at how easy this recipe is and how amazing the resulting crust taste. I used whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil in place of the white flour and shortening. I also let the dough rest a while in the fridge. I used half of the dough to top a veggie pot pie and the other half to top a peach pie. It was so easy to roll out and handle! Great recipe. Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was a great crust for my pot pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NC baking girl
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This crust is perfect!! Soooo good, great to work with, easy to make and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I never made a crust before this crust. I was making the crust for a turkey pot pie to make use of all of the extra turkey that we had from Christmas. This was so much easier than I ever imagined. The ingredients were something that I would always have on hand. Thanks for the great recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My sister in law called to see if I had a recipe for crust. She was making chicken pot pie for her mom and dad, but store bought biscuits for the crust. I have never made my own crust before. I made enough for 2 pies, and they were awesome. Very simple to make, and no mess. I rolled it out on wax paper with no effort at all, and it took very little time. The crust was very flaky and light. Definatly a keeper. And now, thanks to this recipe I will be the designated pie crust maker in the family. But, at least I get a pie or 2 out of the deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States