Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Easy and yummy. I've made this a number of times with all different recipes. Always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was great. I used it as crust for pot pie and my guy RAVED about how buttery and flakey it was. A few days later after inhaling his leftovers he was still in the mood for pot pie and purchased a Trader Joe's version. "No comparison. Remind me that your version is the best," was the response. Kudos for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I made personal pot pie pastries. I made circles with an upsidedown bowl and rolled the meat and rice like a tortilla wrap. This dough was perfect. It came out a little dry so next time I will make a salt water and butter glaze for the top and add gravy to the inside. The dough however kept its shape and tasted great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a quick and easy pie crust that results in a very flaky crust. While my husband enjoyed the flavor, I was sensitive to the shortening taste. I prefer the taste of a butter crust, but it's difficult to give up the flakiness that shortening imparts. I will be looking for a recipe that incorporates both ingredients but will keep this one in mind. It worked well with my chicken pot pie and that shortening taste is my own personal pickiness and has nothing to do with the quality of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lazar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made chicken pot pie IX and usually use a frozen crust but was halfway through preparing it when I realized I didn't have one in the freezer after all. I used this as a substitute and will not be buying them frozen for pot pie any more...it made all the difference. I rolled it into a bottom crust and used a pizza cutter to make strips to weave across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very flaky, goes well with chicken pot pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Super, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I am shocked at how easy this recipe is and how amazing the resulting crust taste. I used whole wheat pastry flour and coconut oil in place of the white flour and shortening. I also let the dough rest a while in the fridge. I used half of the dough to top a veggie pot pie and the other half to top a peach pie. It was so easy to roll out and handle! Great recipe. Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was a great crust for my pot pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States