Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I made this tonight and used it for a pot pie. it was perfect. Flakey and delicious. I ran out of all purpose flour and used part whole wheat. It still turned out great! Super recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
next time i won't add as much salt though. as i have salt inside. i am using it for Chicken pot pie and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I have just recently begun to cook all of our meals from scratch, in an effort to eliminate processed foods from our diet completely. This crust was so easy to make, and tasted great. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent!! I thought about saving time and using a chilled roll of crust. But must contain LARD---YUCK. This crust was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scmom3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
A wonderful pie crust! I have used this with both butter and shortening and it turned out great both times. A truly wonderful addition to any pot pie! I'll never buy a crust again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Really bland, and very dry texture. Also very hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Perfect pie crust! Easy to make and very delicious. I would make 1.5x the recipe for the veggie pot pie. That way the crust can be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made chicken pot pie with friends last night using this recipe for the crust (used butter instead of shortening, though) and it turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I didn't have the "correct" ingredients on hand. I followed the measurements but used self-rising flour and butter and just omitted the salt. The crust was so wonderful and I think would make an excellent biscuit recipe as well. As mentioned in previous reviews, letting the dough set does make for easier rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I had a specific taste in mind that I hoped this recipe would mimic when I used this crust in my chicken potpie recipe. I was hoping this recipe would produce that taste and it did! I am not a fan of pre-packaged pie crusts and can't stand them in fruity pies so I didn't want to try one in my potpie like most of the recipes on this site call for. I am SO happy I took the time to make this crust. It is the BEST! Instead of shortening, I did use the Smart Balance "butter" sticks I had on hand (2/3 cup as called for). This was SO delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States