Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Turned out great! I added some Italian seasoning for my turkey pot pie plus put some butter on top. It was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Easy, simple. Came out flaky, just like I wanted. I did prick the bottom with a fork and throw it in the oven for 5 min (425) by itself before loading with pot pie. I can't say how much it helped, but the bottom wasn't the least bit soggy. (Once I filled it, I brought the heat down to 400 and cooked for 30 min with foil on the edges, 30 min without). THANKS! I will use this instead of buying for sure. EDIT: I've used this a second time, prebaking the bottom, and then just putting the top on without foil for 30 min, watching until it browned up. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Been making this crust since 1954 and it's never failed. Perfect for Pot Pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I thought this was easy in everyday. I used this recipe to make pie crust strips for a soup. I made a few changes but I think it would be good the original way. Here is what I did...1 C whole wheat flour. 1 C White, 2/3 C butter, 7T water, 1T white vinegar, mixed in my stand mixer, rolled out, cut into 4 inch by 1/2 inch strips (approx), sprinkled w/salt, baked at 450 Degrees 6 to 8 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This crust was perfect with the Chicken Pot Pie recipe. Could test out some savory spices with it, add garlic powder, onion powder, and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Perfect crust! If it were socially acceptable to eat this alone, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aris Ervin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Super easy for my duck pot pie, I'll be saving this recipe for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Very good. Kids loved it. I refrigerated before rolling while I made my pot pie filling. Rolled out perfectly; easier than the one I had been making before. Will be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is the second time trying for me and I must say, it worked like magic! I used less than 2/3 cup of canola oil instead of shortening. Perfect! The crust was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
perfect for a crust that's not too complex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States