Crunchy Wheat and Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I am russian and been loking for taste of the bread like I had at my homeland .This bread has very close taste to my childhood's bread.Very good!!!I didn't use honey and brown sugar (I don't like sweet bread.I am excepting sweeteness in the cake,not bread)I added 2 tablespoon white sugar so yeast rise well,but it didn't give sweeteness to bread,just perffect balance of the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is one of the best multigrain bread recipes out there!! I've been making it for years!!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVBROWNIES
Home Town: Mebane, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very nice bread! I love that it uses my favorite cereal, too--gives me a wonderful reminder to buy it! I left out the brown sugar bc I figured the honey was enough, and I added 1 tbs of vital wheat gluten since I don't have bread flour. It was a bit dry; had to add 1/4 cup of water to get it to make a workable dough, but that's okay. It's not uncommon to have to add liquid or dry ingredients to get the correct consistency with bread. I baked in the oven at 375 for 50 minutes and got a nice browned and crunchy loaf. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great bread! I knew this would be eaten quickly, so I doubled the recipe! Instead of using brown sugar, I just used more honey. This bread bakes nicely in bread pans in a 400 oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a delicious loaf! I didn't have any grapenuts cereal, so I just used the equivalent measurement of Multigrain Cheerios.....what a success :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
this bread was delicious. i left out the sugar as it was sweet enough with just the honey and used a combination of cracked wheat and flax seeds instead of the grape nuts. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I used this recipe in a bread maker.It turned out wonderful, great texture and everybody loves the sweetness.Iused flas seeds and sunflower seeds. (Its what I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this bread yesterday afternoon exactly a written in a Sunbeam on whole wheat setting. Nice flavor but very dry and crumbly. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Agent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very tasty. I used 1/2 c All-Bran instead of the Grape-Nuts. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
very good bread: nice texture, great taste. Great way to use up Grape-nut cereal that I bought during a weak moment, then regretted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States