Crunchy Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I only made one substitution and one change--I used pecans instead of walnuts and I omitted the additional salt. Very interesting sandwich-salad recipe. We all really enjoyed it, even my husband who can be a bit picky when it comes to these kind of sandwich fillings. It did have a little too much apple, when I make this again I would only use one small tart apple instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very yummy. Could really taste the dijon, even though there's not a lot in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This a sweet, tasty salad. You can make substitutions easily. I've made this with apples and also with cranberries. As much as I love cranberries, I thought the apples made for a better balance of flavor, cranberries really ramp up the sweetness. I used half of the lemon and substituted honey flavored Greek yogurt for the sour cream and the honey. I've tried both walnuts and almonds and unless you are a huge walnut fan, the almonds are better. I also tried doubling the dressing but it was way too creamy for my taste. I added more turkey to remedy that. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Awesome! The crunch of the apples, walnuts and celery were perfect. I thought the flavors blended very well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is very tasty. For me the ratio of apple to turkey was a little high so I added some more turkey but still, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
As written, I would give this recipe only 3 stars, because the ratios seem to be off. I started with the called-for amount of nuts, apples, and celery, but after I added the turkey, it looked like it was about to become an apple, celery, and nut salad with a sprinkle of turkey. So I decided to deviate even more. Good thing this recipe is very versatile. When all was said and done, my recipe was as follows: 2 1/2 cups turkey (dark and white), 2 stalks celery, one granny smith apple, 3/4 cup of dried cranberries, 1/2 cup sliced almonds (don't like walnuts as much), 1/2 cup each of plain yogurt and lite mayo (didn't have sour cream or regular mayo), 1/2 T dried parsley, a little over 1 T each of honey, dijon mustard, and lemon juice, and salt & pepper by eyeballing. It turned out very yummy, with the nice delicate crunch of the sliced almonds. Done my way, I give it 4 stars. Not 5 just because it wasn't AMAZING or out of the ordinary, but very good. The overall combination of flavors and textures is appealing to my tastes, so I appreciate the recipe to use as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Scrumptious! Modifications I made based on what was in the house: wasabi mayonnaise for plain mayo, agave nectar for honey (decreased to 2 tsp), 1 T curry powder for mustard, omitted lemon juice, otherwise as-is. Served on whole wheat tortilla as a wrap. Glad there's enough for several servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I added a handful of dried cranberries. I also used my food processor to cut down on chopping and because I like the consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was excellent! I'm usually not this type of a salad person, but we were going to a football party the day after Thanksgiving and needed to bring something, & had all the ingredients, so I made this. I did add about 1/4 cup dried cranberries (tip from another recipe) and used this as a "dip" to put on crackers. Wow! I'm impressed! People loved it!!! So did I! I can see putting this on bread like a sandwich too. Thanks for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made this 3 times now, first with turkey sliced thick from the deli counter, next with chicken and finally with leftover turkey - obviously it's great if I keep making it! Least favorite was with the deli turkey, other two were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TracieT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States