Crunchy Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This recipe is awesome. Also, very versatile. I left out the celery,b/c my husband doesn't like it. That did not affect the taste at all. You can make this salad w/ any fruit(grapes,craisins etc.) and any nut(almonds,pecans...) but do not leave out or sub the fresh lemon juice or HONEY!! It makes the dressing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Husband loved this sandwich. Only modification I made was to use cutting celery rather than celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was so delicous! I used some leftover turkey breast and followed the recipe *almost* exactly. I reduced the celery to 1 large stalk and reduced the apple to 1 large MacIntosh (peeled). I also omitted the sour cream because I didn't have any and just used Olive Oil Hellmans. The end result was absolutely delicous - to the point that my husband who proclaims to hate turkey salad rated it 5 stars. The next time I make this, I will toast the walnuts for added flavour and I might add some dried cranberries which would be delicious as well. EDIT: I made this again using chicken and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Since I got this right after Thanksgiving I had plenty of turkey in the freezer and needed ideas to use it. I really liked the flavors in this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have been remiss in not reviewing this sooner. I sent the hubs to work with this on a pita just after Thanksgiving....I used a whole pita, which was too much for him to eat, so he shared with "the guys". The ones with plain ol' leftover turkey were jealous! Super job nice healthy recipe, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was good except for the sauce.However I did find a sauce off a chicken salad recipe on here that was even easier and required less ingredients that went fabulous. I even made a second batch! So thank you for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisacb2005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe is wonderful -I'm trying it with chicken for hubbie's lunch tommorrow. Worth cooking up a turkey just to make it into Crunchy Turkey Salad! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Four Stars because I did not follow the recipe. I used leftover chicken, both white and dark meat. I did follow the dressing using others suggestions to make twice the amount and I found I did need it. I try to find low-sodium recipes. I did not add the salt and did not miss it. The recipe called for several leftovers (besides the chicken) I needed to find use for left in the frig such as the apple, celery, parsley. I even had some nuts in a bowl left from the holidays and cracked the walnuts which were so fresh and crunchy. Two items I forgot to add were dried cranberries and I think a little hot sauce like Tobasco would have given it that extra tweek. The cranberries would not only add to the taste, but the presentation for color. Not only did the recipe taste yummy but we had the added bit of not wasting food. I had this recipe re-calculated to yield two servings. The original recipe yielded six servings and called for 1 cup cooked, cubed turkey meat. The re-calculated recipe called for one-third cup. This seemed very skimpy to me and for the 2 servings I used one cup chicken, cubed. We found this recipe to be very yummy and will go into my recipe box for 'a keeper'. Thank-you Chris, I think this will get much use in warm weather as a luncheon dish. QUESTION: Am I the only person that thinks when you alter a recipe to either add or scale-down on the amount it will serve that it also alters the taste of the original recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe was really good. A great way to use up leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was delicious! I've had other versions of this recipe in cafes and restaurants, but this was the first time I've actually tried to make it. My fiance also loved this turkey salad. It's definitely "crunchy" and the dressing is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States