Crunchy Turkey Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I can't wait to make this again! It was so delicious. No changes. My teenager even flipped out about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I only made one substitution and one change--I used pecans instead of walnuts and I omitted the additional salt. Very interesting sandwich-salad recipe. We all really enjoyed it, even my husband who can be a bit picky when it comes to these kind of sandwich fillings. It did have a little too much apple, when I make this again I would only use one small tart apple instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very yummy. Could really taste the dijon, even though there's not a lot in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This a sweet, tasty salad. You can make substitutions easily. I've made this with apples and also with cranberries. As much as I love cranberries, I thought the apples made for a better balance of flavor, cranberries really ramp up the sweetness. I used half of the lemon and substituted honey flavored Greek yogurt for the sour cream and the honey. I've tried both walnuts and almonds and unless you are a huge walnut fan, the almonds are better. I also tried doubling the dressing but it was way too creamy for my taste. I added more turkey to remedy that. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Awesome! The crunch of the apples, walnuts and celery were perfect. I thought the flavors blended very well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is very tasty. For me the ratio of apple to turkey was a little high so I added some more turkey but still, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
As written, I would give this recipe only 3 stars, because the ratios seem to be off. I started with the called-for amount of nuts, apples, and celery, but after I added the turkey, it looked like it was about to become an apple, celery, and nut salad with a sprinkle of turkey. So I decided to deviate even more. Good thing this recipe is very versatile. When all was said and done, my recipe was as follows: 2 1/2 cups turkey (dark and white), 2 stalks celery, one granny smith apple, 3/4 cup of dried cranberries, 1/2 cup sliced almonds (don't like walnuts as much), 1/2 cup each of plain yogurt and lite mayo (didn't have sour cream or regular mayo), 1/2 T dried parsley, a little over 1 T each of honey, dijon mustard, and lemon juice, and salt & pepper by eyeballing. It turned out very yummy, with the nice delicate crunch of the sliced almonds. Done my way, I give it 4 stars. Not 5 just because it wasn't AMAZING or out of the ordinary, but very good. The overall combination of flavors and textures is appealing to my tastes, so I appreciate the recipe to use as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Scrumptious! Modifications I made based on what was in the house: wasabi mayonnaise for plain mayo, agave nectar for honey (decreased to 2 tsp), 1 T curry powder for mustard, omitted lemon juice, otherwise as-is. Served on whole wheat tortilla as a wrap. Glad there's enough for several servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe almost exactly, but I added a handful of dried cranberries. I also used my food processor to cut down on chopping and because I like the consistency. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was excellent! I'm usually not this type of a salad person, but we were going to a football party the day after Thanksgiving and needed to bring something, & had all the ingredients, so I made this. I did add about 1/4 cup dried cranberries (tip from another recipe) and used this as a "dip" to put on crackers. Wow! I'm impressed! People loved it!!! So did I! I can see putting this on bread like a sandwich too. Thanks for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States