Crunchy Romaine Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe was part of my Christmas day formal dinner party and everyone loved it! I will definitly make again and again. Thanks for the great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! I usually make 1-1/2 times the dressing, and sometimes use a prepackaged bag of romaine. Also I like to use sliced almonds instead of the walnuts and I brown them in the butter along with the ramen noodles. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I have made this several times and am always asked for the recipe. I recommend making the dressing ahead of time (8 hours) and stirring several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
My husband and I thought this salad was amazing. We both had many helpings. I made the dressing a couple of hours ahead of time. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Excellent and impressive salad. Very easy. Break the ramen noodles into small pieces. If you don't, and you leave some larger piece, the small ones will burn/get more brown than the larger ones. Speaking from experience because I thought it would be better with a few larger pieces; don't, keep them small. I liked the idea of sliced almonds though I didn't saute them. They're better sliced because they don't sink to the bottom. I thought the salad was a little too wet so I use more lettuce than suggested. You can also make the dressing ahead of time which I recommend so there isn't that gritty sugar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was amazing! Made it twice in one weekend for two different parties. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
So delicious! This salad is made for almost all of my family's parties and it gets gobbled up each time. I would suggest making 1/2 the amount of dressing because sometimes it can get too soggy. Also, I am not a big onion fan, so I always skip those when I'm the one making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is a great sweet salad to accompany savory dishes- wonderful for brunch. We served it with some chicken crepes and asparagus soup, and it was a great meal. Make sure not to dress it to early or it will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebergle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Deelishis! I used almonds instead of walnuts and didn't dress the salad until it was time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This salad is excellent! Made it on the spur of the moment, didn't have the Romaine and used iceberg instead - it was crunchy and delicious. I read the other reviews and was careful with the noodles, used almonds instead of walnuts, and it turned out divine. I loved it, will definitely made this one again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States