Crunchy Romaine Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Excellent and impressive salad. Very easy. Break the ramen noodles into small pieces. If you don't, and you leave some larger piece, the small ones will burn/get more brown than the larger ones. Speaking from experience because I thought it would be better with a few larger pieces; don't, keep them small. I liked the idea of sliced almonds though I didn't saute them. They're better sliced because they don't sink to the bottom. I thought the salad was a little too wet so I use more lettuce than suggested. You can also make the dressing ahead of time which I recommend so there isn't that gritty sugar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I try not to change a recipe the first time I make it, but here are the minor changes I ended up making to this one: 1) I used pecans instead of walnuts. 2) I added some shredded carrots and sliced mushrooms. 3)I left out the green onion but that was ONLY because I forgot it! The recipe is great and my sister and brother-in-law raved about the dressing. It's something I will make again (and again) only next time I will: 1) use 1/4 cup of sugar in the dressing as recommended by other reviewers -- I think it will be just as tasty with less sugar. 2) toast the ramen and nuts in the oven and omit the butter to cut fat & calories. 3) remember the green onions! Thanks for a wonderful salad that everyone in the family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I could have eaten the whole salad. I used one bag of packaged romaine lettuce, 2 green onions, same amount of broccoli and almonds instead of walnuts for a family of 4. The dressing is definitely sweet. You could prbably decrease the amount of sugar but I would start off making the original recipe first and go from there. I loved the "crunchies" for the top of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Add noodles just before serving with nuts and dressing...Was wonderful..I put the salad together before hand and the noodles lost their crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is so good, I would give it more stars if I could! I have made it several times. I use a bag of precut romaine hearts and substitute red bell pepper cause we don't like raw broccoli... I also double the noodles and saute them along with the walnuts in the butter (to which I add the seasoning packets). Definitely wait until right before serving before adding the dressing and the noodles. It is delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This salad is excellent! Made it on the spur of the moment, didn't have the Romaine and used iceberg instead - it was crunchy and delicious. I read the other reviews and was careful with the noodles, used almonds instead of walnuts, and it turned out divine. I loved it, will definitely made this one again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Unbelievably good and such a nice change from the traditional salad. I added cooked chicken breast to make it a meal and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! I usually make 1-1/2 times the dressing, and sometimes use a prepackaged bag of romaine. Also I like to use sliced almonds instead of the walnuts and I brown them in the butter along with the ramen noodles. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This salad was DELICIOUS! I cut the amount of sugar in half, used olive oil vs. veggie oil and almonds vs. walnuts, I then only ended up using half of the dressing. I made this salad for my family then a week later for some friends and it was gone both times. Guests passionately raved about the salad. Wolfgang, a carnivore, wouldn’t touch it regardless of the glowing reviews, but that is okay – more for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
So delicious! This salad is made for almost all of my family's parties and it gets gobbled up each time. I would suggest making 1/2 the amount of dressing because sometimes it can get too soggy. Also, I am not a big onion fan, so I always skip those when I'm the one making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States