Crunchy Romaine Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This recipe was part of my Christmas day formal dinner party and everyone loved it! I will definitly make again and again. Thanks for the great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! I usually make 1-1/2 times the dressing, and sometimes use a prepackaged bag of romaine. Also I like to use sliced almonds instead of the walnuts and I brown them in the butter along with the ramen noodles. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I have made this several times and am always asked for the recipe. I recommend making the dressing ahead of time (8 hours) and stirring several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
My husband and I thought this salad was amazing. We both had many helpings. I made the dressing a couple of hours ahead of time. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Excellent and impressive salad. Very easy. Break the ramen noodles into small pieces. If you don't, and you leave some larger piece, the small ones will burn/get more brown than the larger ones. Speaking from experience because I thought it would be better with a few larger pieces; don't, keep them small. I liked the idea of sliced almonds though I didn't saute them. They're better sliced because they don't sink to the bottom. I thought the salad was a little too wet so I use more lettuce than suggested. You can also make the dressing ahead of time which I recommend so there isn't that gritty sugar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This was amazing! Made it twice in one weekend for two different parties. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
So delicious! This salad is made for almost all of my family's parties and it gets gobbled up each time. I would suggest making 1/2 the amount of dressing because sometimes it can get too soggy. Also, I am not a big onion fan, so I always skip those when I'm the one making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is a great sweet salad to accompany savory dishes- wonderful for brunch. We served it with some chicken crepes and asparagus soup, and it was a great meal. Make sure not to dress it to early or it will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebergle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Deelishis! I used almonds instead of walnuts and didn't dress the salad until it was time to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This salad is excellent! Made it on the spur of the moment, didn't have the Romaine and used iceberg instead - it was crunchy and delicious. I read the other reviews and was careful with the noodles, used almonds instead of walnuts, and it turned out divine. I loved it, will definitely made this one again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States