Crunchy Romaine Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Excellent and impressive salad. Very easy. Break the ramen noodles into small pieces. If you don't, and you leave some larger piece, the small ones will burn/get more brown than the larger ones. Speaking from experience because I thought it would be better with a few larger pieces; don't, keep them small. I liked the idea of sliced almonds though I didn't saute them. They're better sliced because they don't sink to the bottom. I thought the salad was a little too wet so I use more lettuce than suggested. You can also make the dressing ahead of time which I recommend so there isn't that gritty sugar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I try not to change a recipe the first time I make it, but here are the minor changes I ended up making to this one: 1) I used pecans instead of walnuts. 2) I added some shredded carrots and sliced mushrooms. 3)I left out the green onion but that was ONLY because I forgot it! The recipe is great and my sister and brother-in-law raved about the dressing. It's something I will make again (and again) only next time I will: 1) use 1/4 cup of sugar in the dressing as recommended by other reviewers -- I think it will be just as tasty with less sugar. 2) toast the ramen and nuts in the oven and omit the butter to cut fat & calories. 3) remember the green onions! Thanks for a wonderful salad that everyone in the family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I could have eaten the whole salad. I used one bag of packaged romaine lettuce, 2 green onions, same amount of broccoli and almonds instead of walnuts for a family of 4. The dressing is definitely sweet. You could prbably decrease the amount of sugar but I would start off making the original recipe first and go from there. I loved the "crunchies" for the top of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Add noodles just before serving with nuts and dressing...Was wonderful..I put the salad together before hand and the noodles lost their crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is so good, I would give it more stars if I could! I have made it several times. I use a bag of precut romaine hearts and substitute red bell pepper cause we don't like raw broccoli... I also double the noodles and saute them along with the walnuts in the butter (to which I add the seasoning packets). Definitely wait until right before serving before adding the dressing and the noodles. It is delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This salad is excellent! Made it on the spur of the moment, didn't have the Romaine and used iceberg instead - it was crunchy and delicious. I read the other reviews and was careful with the noodles, used almonds instead of walnuts, and it turned out divine. I loved it, will definitely made this one again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Unbelievably good and such a nice change from the traditional salad. I added cooked chicken breast to make it a meal and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I love this recipe! I usually make 1-1/2 times the dressing, and sometimes use a prepackaged bag of romaine. Also I like to use sliced almonds instead of the walnuts and I brown them in the butter along with the ramen noodles. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This salad was DELICIOUS! I cut the amount of sugar in half, used olive oil vs. veggie oil and almonds vs. walnuts, I then only ended up using half of the dressing. I made this salad for my family then a week later for some friends and it was gone both times. Guests passionately raved about the salad. Wolfgang, a carnivore, wouldn’t touch it regardless of the glowing reviews, but that is okay – more for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
So delicious! This salad is made for almost all of my family's parties and it gets gobbled up each time. I would suggest making 1/2 the amount of dressing because sometimes it can get too soggy. Also, I am not a big onion fan, so I always skip those when I'm the one making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States