Crunchy Romaine Toss Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
took this to a Christmas party and people loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I really liked this salad. I think it's a great recipe. I'm not sure why, but only 1/2 of it got eaten at the work potluck. It didn't go over nearly as well as the usual cabbage/ramen noodle salad. Maybe I'll try it with my family some day as I did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic...Great to bring along to get togethers. Probably not the healthiest salad, but tasty nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Always a crowd pleaser! Be sure not to cook the nut/ramen noodle mixture too long or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I make this salad once a week, and it's a hit with all my guests! I substitute balsamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar, and have found that 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, and 2 tsp soy sauce is enough for this 8-serving salad. Any more and the lettuce would be dripping! The dressing IS important for softening up the broccoli, however, so I let it sit for 15-20 minutes before serving. Toss the crunchy noodles and walnuts in right before serving so the noodles don't get too soggy. Like other reviewers, I had no problem cutting the butter down to 1-2 tbsp when frying the noodles (which should DEFINITELY be broken into tiny crumbles), and toasting the walnuts in the oven. I've also thrown the walnuts in raw and I've never had a complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a fabulous salad. Try adding dried cranberries, or mandarin oranges and some left over chicken. I make the dressing with splenda so I can control the sugar. I have also replaced the ramen noodles with slivered toasted almonds instead of the walnuts to keep the crunch without the added butter. I also have added other greens like baby spinach, or a handful of broccoli slaw. This salad is so versital. Fabulous as written but don't be afraid to mix it up and make it your own Lynn Gregory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have served this recipe many times and every time everyone wants the recipe. Very tasty and easy to make - followed directions exactly and delicious every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Make sure you break the ramen up really small or its hard to eat. The dressing is delicious, but makes a ton. I tossed the salad in 1/3 of the amount I made and put the rest on the side and no one used the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is a delicious salad but for a more healthy take, cut out the butter and frying altogether. You don't need to toast the ramen noodles (I use Ichiban) because they are already crunchy. To get the nutty flavour from the walnuts, I simply chop then place in the oven at 200 degrees for about five minutes or until toasted (keep an eye on them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. It is different and easy and perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Grilled Romaine

The grill. It’s how Caesar would’ve rocked the Caesar Salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States