Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
As written, the coating seemed bland, so I tweaked it some (ok.. a lot, but the original recipe is still a great concept). After briefly soaking the fish in lemon-water, I dredged the fillets in a mix of 1/2 C flour, 1/4 C cornmeal, a few heaping tbs of grated Parm, ample cayenne and hefty dashes of dill, garlic powder, thyme and salt. Placed the fish in a broiler pan which was lined with crumpled foil, then misted the fillets with butter spray (no additional fat) to moisten the coating. Broiled for about 7-8 minutes and the coating browned nicely without drying out the fish. Thanks for a good 'starter' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My husband and I really love this recipe. My favorite part is that it does taste fried and look at the nutrition facts... how can you go wrong? Someone mentioned the parmesan broiled recipe and that's fine, but it's also 13 grams of fat versus the 2 you have here. This is the favorite recipe we've found on this site. It's very quick and easy to make, although a little messy. It cooks well and is delicious in our book. We made it with the dijon glazed carrots and traditional mashed potatoe recipes also on this site. YUMMY!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I drizzled olive oil on a foil covered pan (for easy clean up) and a little olive oil on top. It was crisy and had a nice crust just like fried fish but without the calories and oil! I added a little old bay seasoning to the bread crumb/corn meal mixture rather than basil, but next time I'll use lemon pepper instead. My husband said it was better than any fish he'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This is a very good recipe; it's really crunchy and healthy at the same time. I added a little bit more spices and herbs to the breadcrumbs mixture; little bit more oregano, basil, salt, black pepper, and some cajun. I also added some olive oil at the top of each tilapia as I read from one of the reviews, and it came out great. Thanks a lot for this recipe; I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
My family loved this! My kids and husband are not seafood fans by any means. Tuna and frozen fish sticks is about as far as they go. But my kids said this recipe "tastes like fish sticks". And it's MUCH healthier for them. They had it with some homemade fat free tartar sauce. I didn't have cornmeal, and used only Italian bread crumbs. I didn't use the basil either. If I'd had a little lemon, I would have added some lemon juice after I baked it. For those who found this to be bland, tilapia, by nature, is a very mild fish. You'll definitely have to add spices if you want this dish to have some punch. Thank you for this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a surprisingly fried-looking & crunchy fish. Here's what I did: 1/4t salt, two dashes black pepper, 1/8t cayenne pepper, 1/8t garlic powder, plain (as implied) breadcrumbs. After coating, I used nonstick spray & drizzled a little olive oil on, too. I don't know if it made any difference with baking, but when I coat fish (or anything else), if you refrigerate it 30 minutes or more, the coating will stay on better (when pan-frying). It still lacked "something." Next time, I'll try 1/2t salt, 1/4t red pepper, a couple dashes black & a little horseradish in with the egg whites. I'll let ya know ... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was good - but for our taste I definitely had to add some additional seasoning to the breading. In addition to the basil I added garlic powder, onion powder, and ALOT of old bay seasoning. I drizzled with a little olive oil and baked for 9 minutes and then broiled for just for a minute or two to crisp the top. It was really quick and flavorful. I served with tartar sauce made with light mayo and malt vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
WOW. This was (is) really good. (I'm eating it now.) On two filets I used Lawrys Season Salt and the other two I used Nature Seasonings Season Blend. Both are very good and I'm excited that my family can have that fried fish taste without the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
yes, very good starter recipe, i added cayenne and parm and fresh garlic, served w lemon wedges and was off the hook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I added a ton of extra seasoning but I still thought this was bland - and really dry too. Try the Broiled Tilapia Parmesan from this site instead. It is MUCH better, and much less messy to make. Thanks anyhoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States