Crunchy Oven Fried Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the first time I have posted a comment about a recipe. I had to modify because I didn't have cornmeal- so I opened a box of Jiffy Corn muffin mix and used that in place of the cornmeal. It was fabulous! It added a slight sweet taste to the fish, but VERY slight. It was crunchy and fork tender. My son thought it was bland, as others have posted, but he likes a zip to it, so he just added some cajun seasoning on his serving at the table. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Excellant strait from pan but hubby was a lil late and it was still warm but soggy. But def good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This fish has that almost fried taste. I added garlic and onion powders to the flour. The bottom browns and crisps up much better than the top, so next time, I will either flip the fish halfway through or spray the top with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Used frozen tilapia and not very good fish. Expect that good fresh fillets would make this a four-star prepared per the recipe. Maybe should modify per other reviewers to spice up the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Spray foil with PAM, then after putting prepared fillets on foil spray and then sprinkle with olive oil. Bakes up crispy. I used pancake mix and cornbread mix for ease and put much more seasoning. Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Healthy alternative to friying. I like mine a little spicy, so I added a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I made this tonight for me and my husband and we both really liked it. I did as others had suggested and added old bay to the fish, the flour and the breading. I also put a cooling rack inside the baking sheet and cooked the fish on that so that both sides got crispy. I did turn the fish about halfway through and did a quick broil the last couple of minutes. This was the closest to fried fish without frying that we have ever had. tks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Somerville Honaker
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was delicious. My family loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Somerville Honaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We had this last night and it was the first time i ever really liked fish that was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Even after doctoring this recipe quite a bit, I still found it bland. I Think the problem is the bread crumbs, makes the texture a bit off and does nothing for the taste. Any ideas for a coating that will be crunchy but have some flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States