Crunchy Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious muffins! I tried to make them healthier so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour and no white flour. I also make my own brown sugar using 1 cup white sugar and 1 tablespoon robust molasses. Rather than using orange juice from the store, I squeezed my own oranges (also used 1/2 cup). The topping I did however use the white flour but didn't end up using all the topping that recipe requires. Came out fantastic! Highly recommend making these substitutions if you're looking for something a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I thought these were good. I used up an entire naval orange for the orange zest and juice called for in the recipe. The ingredients were not diffcult to put together as I already had them on hand. The batter itself was a little thick and appeared to need a little more orange juice but I did not add any, I just filled up 13 muffins. Mind you I may have slighty smaller muffin tins. After reading other reviews and going through the list of ingredients, I decided it was best to cut back back on the brown sugar to 1/4 cup for the streusel topping. And I am glad I did. It still tasted slightly sweet but had I used the full 1/2 cup of brown sugar it might have been too sweet for my tastes - especially since this is a muffin, not a cupcake. The topping was easy to prepare. I sprinkled a generous amount of the streusel topping over each muffin and put them into the oven. The muffins released a nice cinnamon orange-y scent. The muffins baked up nicely rising up and forming a round muffin top. Topping reminds me a lot of a crumb cake because of its crumbly streusel topping. The texture is nice and crunchy with all the pecans. The muffin itself is flavored with the orange and cinnamon working together nicely. Thou the flavor is there, I notice that the muffin is slightly dry, not moist. Maybe the batter needs more orange juice? The orange scent is a nice smell while keeping its delicate flavor. However, some others might want a stronger orange flavor. As for me it I thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Heavy muffin, good for breakfast. Just the right hint of orange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Not very "orangey" as is. But with the zest of an entire orange (about 2 tbsp) the flavor was stronger. The amount of sugar in the topping was way too much. When I used half that, I got a better topping - crunchy, crispy, and not too sweet. I've subbed the oil for applesauce, but you get that weird gummy texture in these, so if you want to cut fat, I'd say try yogurt or only sub part of the oil. Overall, it's a very good muffin. My kidlet loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These turned out well, despite my blunder. After putting these in the oven, I picked up my flour canister to put it away, and there was the egg that was supposed to be in the muffins. I decided to finish baking them anyway. They are just a tad on the dry side, and I don't know if that is the missing egg or not. I did; however, only get 9 muffins and that was scraping the bottom of the bowl. I don't think that 1 egg would make up 3 more muffins. So if you want 12 muffins, you would need to up the ingredients. Overall, the orange flavor is just right, and the topping is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I was out of whole wheat flour, so just used regular all-purpose flour. I doubled the recipe as my muffin pans are jumbo sized muffins and I wanted more than just 6 muffins. I also added 1/4 cup of orange yogurt and only used 1/4 vegetable oil. Even with all the changes they turned out great and the streusel topping is really wonderful, although messy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
My kids gobbled these muffins up! I used walnuts instead of pecans in the topping. I found there was just enough orange flavor, even though I omitted the orange rind. Perfect with a cup of coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These are delicious muffins. I agree that there is too much sugar in the topping, so you could maybe cut that in half. I also substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil, and they turned out nice. The texture was a little different (very spongy), but everyone thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Enjoyed the muffin. Way too much sugar in the topping. Maybe I made the topping wrong but followed the directions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States