Crunchy Lettuce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I will definitely make this again. This is the first time I have used iceberg lettuce in years and it is the right type for this salad. The only thing I omitted was the almonds, otherwise followed the exact proportions. I added the chow mein noodles after adding and tossing the rest of the ingredients with the dressing. They stayed nice and crunchy that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Excellent salad...can be very portable---mix all except dressing in a big zip bag and put the dressing in a container and serve it at work or family gathering at the last minute- I have added cashews and it works great also---i do roast the sesame seeds and almonds for about 15 minutes in oven--gives a great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jee jee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Because I wasn't too interested in a 700+ calorie salad, I simply put the lettuce on a plate, and added a little of each of the rest of the ingredients, e.g. one slice of crumbled bacon, a pinch of noodles etc etc. I bet this would be delicious finished off with some 'Hot Bacon Dressing' from this site! Thanks, Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
My husband and I LOVE this recipe - great salad! Great for potlucks as it's still good when it's "soggy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful and easy recipe! I've served it a number of time for guests and have received raving reviews and requests for the recipe. I highly recommend trying this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
A tasty salad that was fairly quick and easy to make. The dressing tasted 'right', however, it had quite a bit of sugar in it, and wasn't overly exciting. My kids didn't care for the dressing too much. The toasted sesame seeds and almonds were a great addition. If you are using crunchy chow mein noodles, add them at the last minute, and if you think there will be left overs, only add the crispy noodles to what you are going to eat. They can go soggy very quickly with all that dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I make this salad all of the time--my friends and family LOVE it! Instead of 6 slices of bacon, I use the whole 1 lb. package--I also use 2 packages of pre-shredded lettuce instead of shredding my own--much easier. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
My kids loved this salad. I made half of the recipe for the 4 of us and left out the bacon. Lettuce started to wilt as soon as I tossed with dressing but still tasted great. Added chow mein noodles at the end. Served with "Asian Flank Steak," also from this site. Next time I might add a little sesame oil and/or soy sauce, especially if I'm making it with the Asian steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is an easy, flexible salad. I used two small heads of "Artisan" salad (a varied 4-pack) for the lettuce and used turkey bacon (I'm sure the real thing would be even better). For the dressing, I used 1/4 olive oil, 1/4 c brown sugar, 3 T rice vinegar, and the S&P. This is a great salad if you are serving people who don't care for tomatoes or cucumbers. Two of those eating this don't eat dressing and reported that the salad is excellent without the dressing. I plan to add some sliced strawberries and some blueberries to what's left for a different taste tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The perfect light addition to a spicy meal. My whole family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States