Crunchy Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Very good whole wheat bread. Has a slightly sweet, but not overpowering, flavor. Texture is dense with good crumb. Makes great toast. I really like this bread recipe, Jon. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My test of a good homemade bread is how good it is two days later -- untoasted, with just a little butter. This held up pretty well. I'd even give it a 4 1/2 if I could. It was good fresh with butter and honey (although I would have liked a crunchier crust at this point), good the next day as toast and for sandwich bread. A very all-purpose whole wheat recipe. I might try increasing the amount of granola some next time. It more or less disappeared into the texture of the bread. (I baked it until a turkey thermometer registered 200 degrees, which was just right.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I couldn't detect anything particularly distinctive about this wheat bread that the granola added, but it has a pleasant nice and nice, chewy texture. It rose beautifully and baked up into an high, dense, fine-grained loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This bread is delicous. I just love healthy good-tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
Mine turned out really tough and dense. I prefer a lighter wheat bread. What was left after dinner is going to the ducks tomorrow. My husband asked if they had risen (yes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This didn't have quite the taste that I was expecting but it made a fine product and baked well in the breadmaker :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISLANDGIRLEJFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
YUM! I changed this only slightly and it came out prefect. The 3 of us ate half a loaf at dinner last night. I used 2 T coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and used 2.5 teaspoons of yeast (per my machine's rapid wheat cycle instructions). So good. Very flavorful, nice crust and fluffy inside. Can't wait to eat some as toast in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I just made this last night, because my boss asked me for a honey wheat bread. I cut a little off because it wouldn't fit in the gallon ziplock bag and tried a piece with some nutella for breakfast. I only had white wheat flour, because my son won't eat regular wheat bread, and vanilla almond granola (almonds picked out), but it turned out pretty well. The texture was good, it stayed together well while cutting and eating it, and it tastes good. However, I didn't get a lot of granola crunch or that honey flavor that I was expecting. I'll make this again, but will double the granola and the honey and see if that's closer to what I was expecting. Even if it's not, I'll keep making this, because it held up so well and makes a great sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DustysMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is very good. I meant to add another 1/2 cup of granola at the fruit and nut beep, but I didn't hear the beep so I didn't add any more. Bf's comment was that it "tastes like wheat bread"--meaning he doesn't like it that much. I liked it--it's a nice whole wheat loaf, but to make the granola pop and make it a crunchier bread, I'd add the granola at the fruit and nut beep so it won't get incorporated too much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe turned out really well. I made it for sandwich bread and both my husband and I like it for that purpose. I felt like it was almost too dry though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States