Crunchy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
great recipe! my boyfriend and i ate it up in one night. i used my grandaddy's canned green beans (pretty much the best green beans in the world), instead of regular canned...it was amazing. the bacon and french fried onions work really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Great with the bacon and water chesnuts. However, it definitely needed some more spices (salt and a little seasoning). I would also recommend putting a little less milk in the recipe as the suggested amount made my green beans a little soupy. Great taste, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingwithpanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I love water chestnuts in green bean casserole, and this recipe worked out wonderfully. I tried the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup, but it was a little garlicky for me. If you prefer the traditional tasting casserole, stick with regular cream of mushroom soup. I used french cut green beans, and only used half the water chestnuts, and it was great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It was different and good! I liked the texture of the water chestnuts in the mix. Very good recipe and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
It was good. I would try to make it again and add salt & pepper. The bacon and crunchiness added texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Really good, I used cream of mushroom soup with garlic and I added some mushrooms, and extra bacon. I did add more pepper and some salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I usually make the same old green bean side dish, but this one impressed my son who frequents New York and Hong Kong restaurants. For a 30 year old that doesn't like green beans - he had three helpings and asked for some to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This is an excellent receipe and a nice compliment to a Thanksgiving meal. I tried it for the first time for this past Thanksgiving, and everyone loved it. However, I made two small variations. I added a little extra bacon, and I used the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup. This type of soup, however, may not be for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I uesd real bacon bits to save time & although I chopped the water chestnuts very small, my family didn't like them. Everybody agreed that the bacon was a good addition though. I used 3 cans of seasoned french style green beans, two cans of soup & omitted teh milk. Thanks Becky Twitchell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CBARBUSCA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I didn't have the crunchy onions, so I just put some shredded cheese on top, which was good but not as good. I can't get the canned onions where I live, but next time I'll use corn flakes instead. Either way, the end result was really yummy. I like it because it puts the mushroom flavor a bit more in the background with the bacon, and I like water chestnuts in just about anything. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States