Crunchy Fudge Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These are fantastic! Loved the texture of the crunchy outside with the smoothy fudgy middle. I used natural PB and I think that prevented them from being overly sweet like some other reviewers found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is my all time favorite "christmas cookie". Because they are so rich we only make them once a year. This has been a family tradition with my mother and I for 26 yrs and now my daughter and I have taken it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I have also made this recipe for years. I have modified it somewhat to make a "frosted" bar. Follow the ingredients and procedure as in the original recipe, except: 1. Put all of the cereal mixture in the prepared pan and chill well. 2. "Frost" the cereal mixture with the fudge. Chill cut and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Was a huge hit with a group of friends and family I had over one evening. Very tasty! Definatley need ot use a double broiler though melting the chocolate. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
We've been enjoying this recipe for 30+ years -- we begged my mom to make them when we were kids, and now my son and niece beg for them! The recipe used to be on the chips bag, but I haven't seen it there in years. It IS rich, but it is also soooo good! The only change I'd make, just to make the prep easier: Instead of a double boiler, just combine the chocolate chips, confectioner's sugar, butter (cut into bits) and water in a medium size glass bowl. (I use a 4-cup glass pyrex measuring cup.) Stir to combine, then microwave on high for 1 min. Stir again, and microwave an additional minute. Stir til chips melt and mixture is smooth, then spread immediately. Like other fudge, if you stir too long, it will get too thick to easily spread. Also, refrigerating the krispies while you prepare the fudge layer makes it much easier to spread the fudge over them. We keep ours in the fridge after they're made and take squares out as we want them. They hold together better and the taste is much better chilled than room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This recipe brought words to my husband's mouth that I never thought I would hear, "They are too sweet." These are very rich and very sweet and you will have to cut them into very small bars. Don't get me wrong, they are good, but will give you a sugar rush from the Gods if you eat too many. I also hated that I dirtied so many dishes just to make rice crispy treats. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Can't keep my kids and the neighbor kids out of this one! I thought the chocolate was a little difficult to spread and the sandwich effect would be ruined. I was wrong. Doesn't have to be perfect because they looked great when I cut into them. Thanks. I'll be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
This recipe is delicious but very rich! My 11 year old daughter loves it, my 14 year old son is not so keen on it. This is perhaps more something that the under-12 age group would go for? A bit too rich for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
my nephew's loved them along with the rest of my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
What a hit it was at the party! Had many ask for the recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States