Crunchy Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is The Perfect recipe for crunchy fried shrimp! Next time I'll remember to keep the tails on. lol. My family could not get enough of it!! Perfect crunch factor..rated five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
The 1st time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly as written and I thought the batter was to "bready" and it was lacking in flavor sooo the 2nd time around I did 2 eggs and added some tonies... came out great!! love the panko bread crumbs in tis as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AvaGsMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
YUMMY! I butterflied my shrimp b/c that's the way we always do it when we fry them, but did everything else the same otherwise. These turned out great. Will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We really like fried shrimp & this recipe is the best I've come across. I used about 1 tsp Old Bay Seasoning in 1/2 c. flour and about the same amount in 1 c. panko crumbs. Used only 2 beaten eggs. Just the right amt of ingred for a 14oz pkg frozen jumbo shrimp. Deep fried in batches of 6 for about 3 min @ 350 degrees. Dipped in Cross & Blackwell seafood sauce......yummmmm. The 2 of us ate everyone of them!! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was amazing! My whole family agreed that these shrip were better than restaurant fried shrimp. I suggest frying them in a dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Posen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Ok, I gave this recipe a 3/5 ONLY because I had to yield the recipe down to 2 servings which kind've confused me with the ingredient adjustments PLUS I only had Gia Russa bread crumbs instead of the recommended Kikkoman Panko. I also didn't have the freshest of cooking oils for deep frying usage and so on. The end result was tasty but seemed alil more on the 'eggy-heavier' side instead of on the 'light-crunchy' side that I was aiming for. A recipe I am willing to try again with the proper preparation needed but one I would prefer not to go through the hassle of doing if repeated with what I was working with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeziiKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is "merely" a simple, basic method for breading and deep-frying shrimp. But that doesn't diminish the fact that it is flawless in its instructions, resulting in perfect, delicious and beautiful deep fried shrimp you'll really be proud to serve and in seventh heaven to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used two eggs, and instead of salt & pepper, used a bit of Old Bay. It's a rarity when all the kids like the same thing, but this one worked for everyone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent! Used homemade breadcrumbs. Gave a good dose of Old Bay and some cayenne pepper when they came out of the oil. We don't fry much so there were a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
THE BEST fried shrimp ever! I've eaten lots of fried shrimp in restaurants - and nothing has been better than this! I followed others advice and reduced the salt and omitted the pepper and replaced them with a teaspoon of Old Bay. I also used only two eggs - which was plenty. AND I dipped the shrimp into the egg twice -- once before dredging in flour and then again after dredging in flour (before coating with panko). I also found that one cup of panko was plenty. Another tip -- put them in the freezer for about 10 - 15 minutes after coating and before frying… I do this with everything we fry (makes the batter adhere better). I fried them in 2" of oil in our deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States