Crunchy Fried Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by curlysuu82
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
We made this for the first time tonight and it's a hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So good! My picky kids loved it! And I will be adding this to our regular monthly meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This turned out amazing! Relativelya easy, quick. The Panko fried up perfectly. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
OMG If you like Walts Famous Shrmp at Red Lobster you will love this recipe!!! I used my deep fryer, changed the oil and set it for 350. One minute and 6 seconds makes the perfect fried shrimp! My cocktail sauce is simple.......ketchup and horseradish to taste! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I actually used it on halibut and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
THE BEST fried shrimp ever! I've eaten lots of fried shrimp in restaurants - and nothing has been better than this! I followed others advice and reduced the salt and omitted the pepper and replaced them with a teaspoon of Old Bay. I also used only two eggs - which was plenty. AND I dipped the shrimp into the egg twice -- once before dredging in flour and then again after dredging in flour (before coating with panko). I also found that one cup of panko was plenty. Another tip -- put them in the freezer for about 10 - 15 minutes after coating and before frying… I do this with everything we fry (makes the batter adhere better). I fried them in 2" of oil in our deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Can't mess this up! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is "merely" a simple, basic method for breading and deep-frying shrimp. But that doesn't diminish the fact that it is flawless in its instructions, resulting in perfect, delicious and beautiful deep fried shrimp you'll really be proud to serve and in seventh heaven to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My hubby, kids and myself all loved this recipe. Wonderful texture! I had extra large eggs and many reviewers said they only used two so that was all I used. I had lots left over. I don't think we have Old Bay in Western Canada so I am going to put that on my list of things to look for when I go on my next trip to the US. I've seen it mentioned in so many recipes on allrecipes.com it seems to be very popular! So I seasoned with sea salt and pepper as the recipe specified. The only thing I didn't do as specified is use 2 inches of oil. I probably had about a half an inch of oil in the pot. I tested the temp with a thermometer and it was just over 200 degrees when I put the first shrimp in. I know that the hotter the oil the less opportunity for it to be absorbed by the food but I was worried about smoking and splattering so I was a bit of a chicken to get it much hotter (based on how high I usually set my stove temp). I put the finished shrimp on paper towels to drain and ground a little bit more sea salt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Amazing. I wouldn't change a thing. I've tried several fried shrimp recipes. This was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States