Crunchy French Toast Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe that's fun to do with kids! The "crunch" was a nice departure from the ususal french toast. I used a pizza cutter to cut the bread into thirds and added a little sugar to the egg/milk mixture along with a bit of vanilla and cinnamon for good measure. Once they were done I topped them off with some confectioners' sugar and real maple syrup. Great way to start your morning.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My kids really enjoyed this. This made quite a bit, so I wrapped up the rest for tomorrow. I think I might add a little nutmeg, vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture next time. I used Special K because that was all I had. I served this with a fruit and yogurt parfait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Good - my kids loved it. I leave the bread whole and add cinnamon, vanilla, and a few tablespoons maple syrup to the milk and egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I was really looking forward to making this. The pictures made this all look so good! But it was nothing like I had expected :( My kids did not like this at all. I had some burn,and the ones that were golden brown were still soggy raw inside. Not sure what I did wrong! I always add cinnamon & vanilla, so flavor was there. Sorry but wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
i used crushed life in place of the corn flakes. and added vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg to the egg mix. this was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe.. my picky daughters loved them! I started making them before church on Sunday and also made them on Monday, Tuesday and today is Wed and I'll be making them again!! It is also a kid friendly recipe since my 7 yr old daughter helps with all the process! I also added a pinch of cinnammon to the egg mixture and also a tsp of vainilla. You might also need extra bread and extra corn flakes to finish up the egg mixture. Since my bread was very soft I decided no to cut them in thirds but rather leave them whole. Serve them with condensed milk and strawberries. They are delicious! Thank you pamplemousse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDESAAVEDRA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal R.
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
These were really good. A nice twist on classic French toast! The recipe made a lot of sticks, and they were very filling. My boyfriend said: "It's like eating French toast and a bowl of cereal at the same time." Like other reviewers, I added some cinnamon to the egg mixture. I also added a bit of sugar. I think next time I will use frosted flakes instead of adding the sugar. I also only slightly crush the corn flakes, this gives it more of a crunch. These are sure to become a new favorite breakfast for us, thank you for the recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I feed this to my neice and nephew for breakfast. and my nephew didn't like french toast but i had him try and between the two of them they ate just about all of it! i put about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and ground cinnamon to the egg mix and a teaspoon of vanilla. the sprinkled sugar on the sticks after they were all done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Really good, fun idea. Kids liked these, but my husband (kid at heart) loved them. Great new breakfast item for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought the overall taste of these was a little absent. I added cinn., vanilla, and nutmeg to the egg mix and used Frosted Flakes but the toast still seemed to lack something. The next time I ate them I sprinkled Cinn. sugar on top and added more syrup and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States