Crunchy French Toast Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
My kids (& hubby) LOVED these. I used my own homemade wheat bread, sliced thick and cut into fourths. It was a great way to use up some corn flakes and add variety to our usual "breakfast for dinner." Be sure to watch the butter, as I did burn a few pieces. Our house smelled like donuts for a day or two. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Great recipe that's fun to do with kids! The "crunch" was a nice departure from the ususal french toast. I used a pizza cutter to cut the bread into thirds and added a little sugar to the egg/milk mixture along with a bit of vanilla and cinnamon for good measure. Once they were done I topped them off with some confectioners' sugar and real maple syrup. Great way to start your morning.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I also added nutmeg cinnamon and vanilla and next time i think i will cover with granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Made mine with crumbled Graham Crackers since there was no cereal in the house....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I was really looking forward to making this. The pictures made this all look so good! But it was nothing like I had expected :( My kids did not like this at all. I had some burn,and the ones that were golden brown were still soggy raw inside. Not sure what I did wrong! I always add cinnamon & vanilla, so flavor was there. Sorry but wont be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Really good, fun idea. Kids liked these, but my husband (kid at heart) loved them. Great new breakfast item for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Eh, it was okay, but not that great. Plus, the crunchy coating burned a bit easily and it stuck to the toast in globs. By far not the worst thing I've eaten, but it's definitely not worth the effort for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I loved this recipe! I added some cinnamon to the egg and milk mixture and it was a huge hit. I would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good. Didn't change anything. My 8yr old asked if I could make these again...and I def will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I feed this to my neice and nephew for breakfast. and my nephew didn't like french toast but i had him try and between the two of them they ate just about all of it! i put about 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and ground cinnamon to the egg mix and a teaspoon of vanilla. the sprinkled sugar on the sticks after they were all done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States