Crunchy Eggplant Parmesan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I followed the suggestions of others of tossing uncooked eggplant slices in flour, then dipping in egg, then into breadcrumbs. I also made extra and just parcooked them until slightly browned, let cool, then put into the freezer on the baking sheets and into a freezer bag once frozen. Now I can just bake them up the next time we want them. I also didn't bake them with the sauce. I just kept the broiler on and melted some parmesean on each slice, plated them and topped with hot tomato sauce. This way they stayed super crunchy. My husband who supposedly hates eggplant parm ate two servings. Whoot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was okay. I say that because I was not blown away by it based on the amount of work it required. I guess I don't see the point in doing all the steps to ensure a crispy breading when you are just going to cover it all in sauce and cheese. It had a good taste overall but no one noticed that the eggplant or breading tasted any different than how I would usually make it. I did brown up some mild Italian sausage and added it to the sauce which added a lot of additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Store was sold out of panko, so I substituted Italian bread crumbs!! Was still a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Delicious! Added diced fresh tomatoes to the sautéed onions and garlic and simmered while roasting and broiling the eggplant. Made for a chunkier marinara. Everyone in my family loves this recipe! Have shared with many friends who also love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe could achieve true greatness with a few IMPORTANT adjustments: 1) DO NOT cook the eggplant slices before coating in egg and breadcrumbs. 2) Dip in seasoned flour FIRST as follows: After sweating the eggplant slices, dip in seasoned flour on both sides, and THEN dip in egg, and THEN in breadcrumbs. Continue as directed. Now, the key to any Italian red sauce recipe is the red sauce. You need a solid marinara to make this perfect, not a crummy jarred sauce. You're gonna go through all this work only to smother your delicious, crunchy eggplant with a jar of Ragu??? No way. Master a basic marinara and you can have it ready while the eggplant is sweating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
My family so enjoyed it! I skipped a couple of steps tho..I sliced the eggplant with skins then let them "weep" for 30 minutes with salt. Rinsed, patted dry the slices; coated with Italian panko crumbs and baked til slightly tender (approximately 30 min at 400 degrees). Layered according to the original recipe. Turned out great without the eggplant getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Time consuming prep but well worth it. The family loved it, even me - a professed hater of eggplant. Making it again tonight by special request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BandMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was fairly quick, and extremely tasty. My whole family loved it, including my six year old who is very picky. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeCooksNomNoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe a lot! The ingredient that sets it apart from the other recipes is the panko bread crumbs. I tried another recipe which called for Italian Seasoning Bread Crumbs. The texture and taste did not even match this recipe. This recipe is closer to what I am use to when ordering it from a restaurant. It's all in the bread crumbs, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States