Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I also used sweetened coconut as I couldn't find unsweetened. I also couldn't find cream of coconut, so I used coconut milk. Is this the same thing? It sure seemed like it...the coconut milk was pretty creamy. Other than those two ingredients, I followed the recipe exactly. The burgers were VERY soggy after they were formed, before they went on the grill. They almost couldn't hold their shape. Perhaps the egg contributed to this? I tasted the coconut and lime in the burgers, but I didn't enjoy it. And I love coconut. The spread had too much mayo - didn't enjoy that either. I used Hawaiian rolls which were, sadly, the best part. I was really excited to make this burger but unfortunately I didn't like it at all. I could taste all the components, but not in a good way, if that makes sense. Had a tangy, sour like taste, and the coconut didn't stand out. The cilantro was distracting - I would recommend excluding that. Maybe I didn't like this because I made them wrong...made a mistake along the way. Not sure, but either way I won't be making them again. I feel bad raining on the parade here as so many seem to like this recipe, but this was my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I wanted to try this recipe because it was so different and had good reviews. I was a little hesitant but am glad I made them because they were so good. I left out the cilantro but used all other ingredients. I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
These were very tasty, but I would recommend toasting the coconut shreds before you put it in the burger. They were a little chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smbarnes98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Although we LOVE coconut..we did NOT like this. My husband tried re-heating one later and it was even worse. Maybe I did something wrong??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Richmond Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
OMG these were insanely delicious!!! Thoughts: I didn't use the egg - didn't see the reason for it. Left out the salt you don't need it w/ the soy sauce being present. Drop the mayo to 1/2 cup MAX. I had 4 guys try these burgers tonight and got a soaring rate of approval, even from a guy who said he didn't really like coconut. Other comments were given how flavourful they were. This is a tried and true burger for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel Monroy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saltillo, Coahuila, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My favorite recipe so far on Allrecipes. I love coconut so this was delicious!! I definitely recommend the hawaiian bread, I made little sliders with the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These burgers are AWESOME! I tried them at the media party for Allrecipes when "What's Cooking" launched and I must admit I didn't think I would like them at all....but I had one and instantly wanted another. They are amazing! I can't wait to make them myself. Cute webisode by the way. : ) I am excited for it to air!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Outstanding - all four people having them thought they were great! Because of mayo comments, I used a little less then recipe and a little more creme of coconut and was very happy with result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Different but good. I preferred more lime juice and I wasn't crazy about the mayo. I broiled the burgers and I found it to be really juicy and flavorful. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana
Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States