Crunchy Catfish Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I've made these several times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Good, but need more flavor. I use panko breadcrumbs, 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt, and about 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper. These are much better with the added spices to me. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
A good recipe. Did indeed have some crunch, but not a lot of flavor. Simple, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Fish was very crunchy. Needed a little bit more flavor added to it. Otherwise, a pretty good recipe. If I try it again, I will probably bake it in the oven since I very rarely fry anything in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Better than I thought it would be and a lot better than I remember as a kid. I'm not a big catfish fan, but sometimes the budget means going for something cheap. The advise of earlier reviewers to let the nuggets sit a bit before frying really helped. Also, I added a little corn meal to the breading. I may have to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
THESE WERE A LITTLE BLAND GOING BY THE RECIPE. I ADDED SOME FRESH GARLIC AND A 1/2 TSP OLD BAY TO THE BREAD CRUMBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was simple, but needed an extra kick of flavor, so I also added cayenne pepper and the juice of a lemon to the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Pretty easy recipe to follow. Used seafood seasoning and panko breadcrumbs. Came out very crunchy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I can get catfish nuggets from my grocery store for like $1.99/ lb. With that being said, I thought these were good! I did change it slightly after hearing the word "bland" more than once. I first dredged the fish in flour that I seasoned with garlic powder and seasoning salt. Then I dipped into the egg substitute that I kicked up with some hot sauce and then into the breadcrumbs (I used seasoned). I thought these had a good flavor and was very happy with the results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A great fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good recipe, i read the reviews before trying it and i did add alittle more flavor and it came out good, the adding the Cayenne pepper gave it a good kick , overall a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States