Crunchy Catfish Nuggets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Good and easy. Used italian bread crumbs and alittle more seasonings in them... and an egg wash instead of substituting. very simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meljeanand

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good recipe, i read the reviews before trying it and i did add alittle more flavor and it came out good, the adding the Cayenne pepper gave it a good kick , overall a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chenya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I can get catfish nuggets from my grocery store for like $1.99/ lb. With that being said, I thought these were good! I did change it slightly after hearing the word "bland" more than once. I first dredged the fish in flour that I seasoned with garlic powder and seasoning salt. Then I dipped into the egg substitute that I kicked up with some hot sauce and then into the breadcrumbs (I used seasoned). I thought these had a good flavor and was very happy with the results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
its agreat way to eat fish ,I added bit of more Indian Red Pepper powder for hotness and a Buffalo wings seasoning of McCormick and fried it .Thanks for sharing it with us Manisha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A great fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Pretty easy recipe to follow. Used seafood seasoning and panko breadcrumbs. Came out very crunchy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I've made this more than once now, and I really like it. But my Mrs. isn't a fish fanatic like I am, so to help cut down on the fishiness, I give the catfish a 20-30 minute soak in buttermilk before continuing witth he rest of the recipe. I don't know why, but it does seem to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Better than I thought it would be and a lot better than I remember as a kid. I'm not a big catfish fan, but sometimes the budget means going for something cheap. The advise of earlier reviewers to let the nuggets sit a bit before frying really helped. Also, I added a little corn meal to the breading. I may have to try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I used Italian style bread crumbs and egg... pretty simple. After frying I drizzled lime juice and salt. It was decicious! Thanks for getting me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
A good recipe. Did indeed have some crunch, but not a lot of flavor. Simple, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States