Crunchy Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My kids loved these muffins so much that I'm making them again, for a playdate with 9 kids tomorrow. I'm not sure why so many people say that they substituted applesauce for oil. There's no oil in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
i just made this muffin exactly as per the recipe. I must say I was a little diappointed. There was virtually no lemon taste!! The muffin was light and fluffy and moist, but lacking in lemon flavor. I will try it again, but I plan to double the amount of lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I *really* didn't like these. Despite following the recipe to a T the muffins tuned into hard, tough chewy biscuit like things that didn't rise. The batter was more like a cookie dough, so I had to add in more than 1/2 cup extra of liquid. These just didn't turn out, and I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These turned out better than expected! The batter was so thick (I had to add a splash more milk) I thought they would be dense. Not the case; they are light and crumbly and yummy! The changes I made were: doubled the cinnamon and added 1/4 tsp ground ginger, added about 1/4 cup more apple bits and made a cinnamon-sugar ground almond topping. Very nice! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
we were lazy and did not make the topping, the muffins were quite tasty without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrks kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We really liked these muffins. I made them as written, except didn't have any granola for the topping. I crushed up some Honey Bunches of Oats cereal and used that instead. It turned out to be our favorite part of the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These muffins are awesome! I made these changes: All whole wheat flour; Used brown sugar; Subbed Apple Cider for milk (in muffins and topping); Subbed Apple Sauce for oil and egg; As others suggested, used more cinnamon; and used pecans in topping... Yummy, yummy, yummy! Also... my changes make these muffins dairy free :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The batter was very dense and these muffins lacked serious flavor. I am not opposed to healthy but these are missing something. I doubt they will be eatten the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Okay, I did change this quite a bit. First, I had no whole wheat flour. (I thought I did when I chose this recipe.). So, I substituted the same amount of instant low-sugar apple oatmeal. Also, for half of the sugar, I used brown sugar. I used slightly more melted butter than it called for, and a few tablespoons of canola oil. I'm glad I did, because it would have been too dry without the added fat. (I imagine using the instant oatmeal substantially increased the dryness of the batter) I also added a few tablespoons of flake coconut. Also, I was out of milk (!), so I subbed regular half and half for about a 2/3 of the milk it called for, and the rest was water. I think that probably evened out to about whole milk. Finally, I didn't follow their recipe for crumbs at all. I used approximately equal amounts of brown and white sugar, softened butter, white flour, and one packet of instant apple oatmeal. I added a bit of cinnamon and salt. I mixed it all in the stand mixer until crumbly. It was parfait, and much better than the crumbs in this recipe would have been. If you learn anything from my review, know that you can sub things here and there, as long as you have a good moisture balance, and adequate leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
i made the muffins. they were delicious! i used half oatmeal (because i didn't have whole wheat flour) and oil (instead of margarine) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States