Crunch Bar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have nicknamed these "crack" because they are so addictive. Everyone who tries them loves them and I'm not exaggerating. I follow the ingredients/proportions listed in recipe and they come out perfect every time. I usually bake them for a couple minutes longer than the recipe says, but I don't really know why, honestly; I guess I just like to be different. I line the pan with aluminum foil and then after I finish making them, I put the pan in the freezer for a little while, until they've cooled and hardened. After I remove them from the freezer, I lift the entire "cookie" up on its side and peel off the foil. Yes, sometimes it tears funny and some little scraps are left behind, but they are easy enough to peel off. Between doing that and cutting them up, I end up with a ton of crumbs, but I keep them in a baggie in the fridge and use them as sundae toppings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Does anyone have the finished product turn out really hard to chew? Sometimes mine are easy to chew and sometimes mine are really hard to chew and I don't know what the secret is! The flavor is outstanding! we love that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
It tasted great but it didn't stick together very well. It just sort of crumbled apart. I think i may have just had too much crackers (mine were crushed) and not enough butter/brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My neighbor is famous for these, and I was nervous to make them!, but I did and they were awesome!! I did follow the Most Helpful Positive Review, which was great advice. I used the Saltines with Sea Salt, and lined the tray with foil and sprayed with cooking spray-I put them in the fridge for a hour till the chocolate hardened, and I had no issues removing them from the tray...the only problem with these is I cannot stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
The recipe should be made as instructed. You need to use just the 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of brown sugar otherwise it will end up chewy and it will stick no matter what you line the pan with (parchment paper actually works best). Don't worry about it not covering every millimeter of the crackers--when you put it in the oven it will bubble and fill in the cracks. One bag of chocolate chips is fine and you need to use semi sweet or it is too sweet. I take the pan out of the oven and wait until the bubbling goes down before I put on the chocolate chips. If they don't warm right away to spread easily, pop the pan back in the still-warm oven for just a few seconds. I stir my butter and brown sugar with a silicon spatula while it is boiling and use the same to spread the chips--it should still be slippery/buttery and the chocolate won't stick as much to the spatula. Saltines are the best cracker choice to give that salty caramel flavor. You should need precisely one sleeve if you have the kind that come 40 to a sleeve and use a 10x15 pan as instructed. The saltines I used (Meijer brand) are not exactly square so I put them width-wise along the top in a row of 5 and then down in columns of 8. It should fit the pan exactly. I always have good luck with this recipe following these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made this with the matzo crackers and used coconut sugar instead of brown sugar (allergic to cane sugar), took them out of the oven when the 7 minute timer beeped…could smell the burnt sugar as I opened the oven door! Have only tried the outside edge , but I think the whole pan is burned on the bottom. I was really looking forward to these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
We love these, but make sure the sides of your baking pan are tall enough (mine were not and I had an ugly smokey mess). My family looks forward to these every holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We have always called this "Christmas Crack" because it is so addicting.If you use the right size pan one sleeve will fill it perfectly and the listed ingredients are just the right amount. I can't believe some had trouble melting the chocolate, it just came out of the oven at 375 degrees the chips are spreadable within 30 seconds. I use a small offset spatula to spread. I never spray the pan because sometimes it makes the crackers soggy and have never had any trouble removing the candy. We make gift baskets to give out at Christmas and each basket gets a half batch of milk chocolate topping and half batch of peppermint topping. I use mint chips and chop up a bunch of candy canes to put on top. These are such a hit with friends they ask for a double batch of crack and forget the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Killbuck, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Tastes just like a Skor chocolate bar! If you've got a sweet tooth, you'll be satisfied with this recipe. 1 and a half cups each of butter and sugar covered the crackers evenly. I only used 1 cup of chopped walnuts and it was plenty. Thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Good, but soooo sweet. SWEETER somehow, then a Skor bar. We used chopped and toasted pecans and they cut some of the sweetness but I still don't see us eating the whole pan! We'll rate 4 stars because - yes, it's good, but way too sweet for us. ALSO - PLEASE MEASURE YOUR PANS BEFORE YOU TELL PEOPLE TO RESCALE THIS RECIPE. I think some of you are using a 12x17 (the large, jelly-roll size). A 10x15 (med size in my Chicago Metallic set) works PERFECTLY and fits all but 2 (if I recall) crackers from a SINGLE SLEEVE of crackers. The recipe is perfectly written. And yes, use the amt of nuts it calls for, they really help cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Clone of a Cranberry Bliss Bar

Bliss out on these sweet holiday treats—they're just like the real deal.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States