Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jenn T.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was so proud how well this pie turned out at Thanksgiving this year. I am a bit new to baking in general. I took picture of it I thought it looked so good! We served it along with some French Vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe. I used a mix of Jonathon, Fugi and Granny Smith Apples and it turned out great. This is my first time making this recipe which is like an apple crips and I will definitely make it again next year for the holidays. Everyone raved about it and ate every last drop. I didn't change a thing except I left out some of the crumb topping because the thought of all that sugar made my teeth hurt..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was OK. I cut down the spice as a reviewer indicated. It was still a bit too sweet and the spice overpowered the natural sweetness of the apples. The topping was very good. I think next time I will cut the spice to 1/4 and see how that comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was one of the less enjoyable apple pie recipes I've tried. There is WAY too much sugar and spices. It also could use some butter and flour to make the filling a better consistency. The temperature is too high and not long enough to cook the apples thoroughly. The crumb topping will burn if not covered until the last 15 minutes of baking. The only thing good about this recipe is the crumb topping is delicious. Do yourself a favor, stick with Grandma Ople's recipe, and use the crumb topping from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This wasn't awful but it was way too sweet. I didn't even use all the sugar it called for and it was just to much with the crumb topping. I like the crumb topping but that's all. I probably won't make this again with all the good recipes on here I'll find another recipe with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I wanted to try something different, and this sure was. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA
Living In: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My familly loved this recipe even my husband who is not a huge fan of apple pie loved it! I did notice that after 10 min. of baking that the crumb topping was starting to burn. I covered the entire pie with aluminum foil and cooked an additional 35 min. The crumb topping stayed intact and did not turn to goo like other reviewers reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Delicious recipe, but watch out on the cooking time (all ovens are different and the top of our pie got a little burnt) and also how many apples are put in the dish (we got a little too much water from the apples). Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This one is always a hit. I use several kinds of apples, usually red delicious, green, and gala. The different flavors each apple brings helps bring out the spices in the pie. I also add about 1/2t. of nutmeg and a bit more cinnamon to boost the spice. The pie is especially good the next day after chilling in the refrigerator. And the crumb top really adds an enjoyable texture to an already great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was very easy to make and smells fantastic while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States