Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Everyone said this was the best apple pie they have ever tasted. Used the same recipe (without the crust) for apple crisp on New Years. It disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I loved this pie! I used 4 Red Delicious and 2 Granny Smith apples for the right mix of sweet and tart. I followed the advice of others and baked the apples without the topping for about 30 minutes. This made the apples extra soft. I then added the topping and covered crust edges with aluminum foil because they were burning. I then cooked the pie for about 15-20 more minutes. I turned the oven down to 300, covered the entire thing, and baked for another 15 minutes. Turned out GREAT! My husband loved it more than his grandmother's apple pie, which is a huge compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwinfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! No two apple pies are going to taste the same, and that's especially true with this recipe. I agree that it does have a little too much cinnamon and nutmeg. I did add 1/8 cup of cream cheese (diced)to the apple mixture before spooning it into the crust. I also love lots of crunchy crumb on top! I doubled the crumb topping, adding extra brown sugar. Gala apples are my favorite, and they work really well for a sweeter (instead of tart) pie while still maintaining their crisp texture and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for One

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This apple pie is delicious. Didn't change a thing, maybe just added more apples to fill up the dish. Do recommend this recipe. My husband is so picky and he loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
After I put this all together and popped it in the oven I realized - hey, there is no flour in the apple mixture! I was sure it would be a runny mess but I was pleasantly surprised. When we cut into it a couple of hours after it came out of the oven it was a bit runny but it ended up setting up very well by the next day. I do think if I made it again I would add a couple of tablespoons of flour to the apple mixture just to be safe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Husband loved it, too spicy for me, I'm more of a traditional apple pie girl, but will make again for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Ok, fellow bakers, IF you like apple crisp (or some call it apple brown betty) and IF you like apple pie....then the two of them just married quite happily to this Crumb Apple Pie! I use a already made Phyllsbury Pie Crust (plus since it comes with two pie crusts I always make one for us and one to give away!). I peel and thinly slice the granny smith apples and mix them in a bowl with the white sugar and 1 T of cinnamon...it makes a really nice sugary, perfectly flavored apple slices to then layer into the pie crust. YUM! Definitely cover the pie near the end as suggested or it will be rock hard and over browned. This warmed on a plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and you are in dessert heaven baby! :) Thanks for the recipe..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Read it tried it "Great Recipe" didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
. I ended up with the crust and crumbs overcooked with half-baked apples underneath. From now on, I will stick with apple pie recipes that call for butter or egg mixtures between the apples instead of relying on cooking apple juices to help hold things together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
gone in ten minutes after it was out. I barely got a piece! I would suggest putting on as much of the crumb as possible because it was slightly thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States