Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My family really enjoyed this Apple crumb pie! I did do 2 things different and that was after I baked the pie for 35 mins I then added the Crumb topping and baked it till it was golden and Yummy!! Also I baked it at 400 instead of the 425! This is going to be a Keeper! Thanks for the Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
A great basis. Of course I changed it around a bit. First off, the recipe calls for way too much cinnamon. I used half a tablespoon for the sugar mixture and only about a teaspoon for the crumb mixture. I used 5 granny smith apples and baked in at 400 degrees (less is more). For the crust, I made my favorite Martha Stewart pate brisee recipe. It's the only way to go and very, very easy to make. Email me if you want the recipe! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My familly loved this recipe even my husband who is not a huge fan of apple pie loved it! I did notice that after 10 min. of baking that the crumb topping was starting to burn. I covered the entire pie with aluminum foil and cooked an additional 35 min. The crumb topping stayed intact and did not turn to goo like other reviewers reported.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Ok, fellow bakers, IF you like apple crisp (or some call it apple brown betty) and IF you like apple pie....then the two of them just married quite happily to this Crumb Apple Pie! I use a already made Phyllsbury Pie Crust (plus since it comes with two pie crusts I always make one for us and one to give away!). I peel and thinly slice the granny smith apples and mix them in a bowl with the white sugar and 1 T of cinnamon...it makes a really nice sugary, perfectly flavored apple slices to then layer into the pie crust. YUM! Definitely cover the pie near the end as suggested or it will be rock hard and over browned. This warmed on a plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and you are in dessert heaven baby! :) Thanks for the recipe..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My changes include: 2 tablespoons of flour to apple filling. For the topping, I half the flour and add half rolled oats PLUS I add 1/4 cup of very chopped pecans. I also bake it at 350 for 60 minutes. Less burnt topping that way! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Tasted good, but didn't plate well. In my opinion, the apple mixture needed some flour to thicken up the juices. May use again but would add flour to apple mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have made this at least 10 times. If you don't like things too sweet or cinnamony just reduce these ingredients a bit. I always cover the crust edges so they don't burn and reduce the heat towards the end and add a little extra time (to make sure the apples are well cooked) Everyone always fights over the last piece of this. Wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Oh, My God! This was absolutely fabulous. Actually sort of a sophisticated apple pie flavor that all the grownups loved. It wasn't just sweet like apple pies often are. Nice and spicy. Maybe not so great for picky little kids who just want sweet, but wonderful for us grownups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was my first pie attempt, so maybe it was me, but this one is not a keeper.... I did 400* at 35 min and the top was already VERY dark, starting to burn. It was a very ugly looking pie, although it did taste pretty good. (I used 20oz apples and only needed 2-1/2 of them, they are huge)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this pie and he was the happiest man i ever saw. He raved about it so much that I had to try it. I am not normally a fan of apple pie. I was VERY impressed. I will never make a different apple pie from here on out!!! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States