Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Though very delicious, I have to only give this recipe 4 stars as I had to make quite a few changes. I only used 5 apples and that was still WAY too many. Try using only 4. Second - cook it at 400 degrees for a perfect crust. When you first create it, the pie will appear really ugly but dont be afraid to pile it high as it bakes down really nicely. Also you really need to add flour to the inside so is holds together nicely. I only had a gram cracker crust but that worked out fine. I used the suggested brown sugar/white sugar mix for the center as well. YUM! This will be my staple apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I have made this at least 10 times. If you don't like things too sweet or cinnamony just reduce these ingredients a bit. I always cover the crust edges so they don't burn and reduce the heat towards the end and add a little extra time (to make sure the apples are well cooked) Everyone always fights over the last piece of this. Wonderful pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maine Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Tasted good, but didn't plate well. In my opinion, the apple mixture needed some flour to thicken up the juices. May use again but would add flour to apple mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Definitely wonderful! The best apple pie I have ever made, and I have been cooking for a lot of years. I did cut down on the cinnamon, and I ended up with one very deep dish pie and six largish tarts. They liked the pie the best because it had more apples. I used MacIntosh which went a bit soft, but tasted great. In future I will use this recipe to make all my apple pies and tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
So easy! And delicious! It's a new fave in our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I used the crumb part of the recipe, it was wonderful. My family raved that it was the best apple pie i have made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Good. I used 5 red delicious apples (I think it should say 6 cups rather than 6 apples) and mixed the apples in with the cinnamon mixture instead of layering. BTW - used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown for the cinnamon mix instead of all white sugar. For the topping, I used 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 1 stick of butter (got it from another recipe that was close but not quite). Did not use a pastry crust on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Oh, My God! This was absolutely fabulous. Actually sort of a sophisticated apple pie flavor that all the grownups loved. It wasn't just sweet like apple pies often are. Nice and spicy. Maybe not so great for picky little kids who just want sweet, but wonderful for us grownups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very easy recipe. I like pies that don't need a layer of crust on top. Will reduce the amount of cinnamon next time--a little too much for my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is an awesome recipe! Don't forget to buy apples that are recommended for baking pies. The crumb topping is a GREAT alternative to the pie crust topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States