Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe! No two apple pies are going to taste the same, and that's especially true with this recipe. I agree that it does have a little too much cinnamon and nutmeg. I did add 1/8 cup of cream cheese (diced)to the apple mixture before spooning it into the crust. I also love lots of crunchy crumb on top! I doubled the crumb topping, adding extra brown sugar. Gala apples are my favorite, and they work really well for a sweeter (instead of tart) pie while still maintaining their crisp texture and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for One

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This apple pie is delicious. Didn't change a thing, maybe just added more apples to fill up the dish. Do recommend this recipe. My husband is so picky and he loved this. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
After I put this all together and popped it in the oven I realized - hey, there is no flour in the apple mixture! I was sure it would be a runny mess but I was pleasantly surprised. When we cut into it a couple of hours after it came out of the oven it was a bit runny but it ended up setting up very well by the next day. I do think if I made it again I would add a couple of tablespoons of flour to the apple mixture just to be safe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Husband loved it, too spicy for me, I'm more of a traditional apple pie girl, but will make again for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Ok, fellow bakers, IF you like apple crisp (or some call it apple brown betty) and IF you like apple pie....then the two of them just married quite happily to this Crumb Apple Pie! I use a already made Phyllsbury Pie Crust (plus since it comes with two pie crusts I always make one for us and one to give away!). I peel and thinly slice the granny smith apples and mix them in a bowl with the white sugar and 1 T of cinnamon...it makes a really nice sugary, perfectly flavored apple slices to then layer into the pie crust. YUM! Definitely cover the pie near the end as suggested or it will be rock hard and over browned. This warmed on a plate with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and you are in dessert heaven baby! :) Thanks for the recipe..love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Read it tried it "Great Recipe" didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
. I ended up with the crust and crumbs overcooked with half-baked apples underneath. From now on, I will stick with apple pie recipes that call for butter or egg mixtures between the apples instead of relying on cooking apple juices to help hold things together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
gone in ten minutes after it was out. I barely got a piece! I would suggest putting on as much of the crumb as possible because it was slightly thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn T.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was so proud how well this pie turned out at Thanksgiving this year. I am a bit new to baking in general. I took picture of it I thought it looked so good! We served it along with some French Vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My whole family loved this recipe. I used a mix of Jonathon, Fugi and Granny Smith Apples and it turned out great. This is my first time making this recipe which is like an apple crips and I will definitely make it again next year for the holidays. Everyone raved about it and ate every last drop. I didn't change a thing except I left out some of the crumb topping because the thought of all that sugar made my teeth hurt..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States