Crumb Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
To those having trouble with the crumb topping perhaps you blended it too well. It is supposed to be coarse. I have been making this pie for years although I use Granny Smith apples with not too much sugar as my family likes it tart. I also heap the apples in the pie because they cook they are reduced. We have this every Thanksgiving along with Pecan and Pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great recipe. My husband said it was the best pie he's ever had. I used Granny Smith apples, and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first apple pie that I have made. It was very, very good and easy to make. The only problem that I came across was the crumbles melted and the top of the pie looked wierd, but the taste of the pie was so good we overlooked the apperance. would make the pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My husband loved this! (As did his friends) I plan on making it again soon! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenAzz
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
been making this recipe since girl scouts, perfect every time !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenAzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This didn't work out for me very well (and didn't look anything like the picture), but I thought it still tasted okay; a fruit pie has to be pretty bad for me not to eat it. I tried to make it exactly as written, using somewhat-small "Pink Lady" apples. My crust was a store-bought refrigerated one, though. My main issue was the crumb topping - it didn't seem to work out, and after baking the pie for 45 minutes, the topping was still more of an unbaked powder than not. Maybe a better description is in order; should the butter have been softened, perhaps? I found the look and taste of this pie somewhat "dark"; instead of the more golden filling I'm used to, this was kind of heavy on the brown sugar and cinnamon; not a complaint, just an observation. I probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great! Melt in your mouth incredible... defiantly on the sweet side (though nice for my palette)maybe even a little too sweet, but then again i accidentally mixed the brown and white sugar together so that may have been why. Will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SourXPCandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My husband really loved it. I did add a little flour to the mixture. I also covered it will foil and baked it for 30 minutes before adding the crumb topping. It was a great finish to a cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgemoets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe word for word and it didn't come out as nice as it seemed it would be. Way too much sugar mixture and the temperature was too high! It came out burnt and too strong with the cinnamon. I am going to try it again because it is a very simple and basic pie recipe but make my own temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilRain78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was very disappointed in this pie! The crumb topping was missing something. Maybe oats??? Not sure, but I will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States