Crown Roast of Pork with Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was fabulous. We had it for Christmas dinner this year. I used bread cubes for the stuffing. The sauce/gravy is awsome. Make extra, my family wanted the gravy on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very juicy and tasty. I did make a few changes. I seasoned the outside of the crown with some Ms. Dash,used white wine instead of vermouth, and used 2.25 oz dry pine nuts, which I roasted, instead of the ones called for in the recipe. This is now replacing our traditional Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was my first time with this stuffing and it was great! The gravy was nice and tangy! I made this for 14 people for Easter today. I would not stuff the roast again, it was very pink still where I put the stuffing. I did have to put the rest of the stuffing in a casserole dish(too much to fit in the roast. Very good meal. Thank you for posting it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was the first time I'd ever made a crown roast and it turned out pretty good. I made my own bread cubes and I'm glad I did - I think it would have been really mushy using bread crumbs! I omitted the chestnuts due to a nut allergy and think, after tasting it, it would have been better with white wine instead of vermouth. It was very tasty, but I felt that the roast should have been seasoned with something prior to cooking...I will make this again but with the few changes I've listed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckyh8177

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
RECIPE VERY HARD TO FOLLOW. STUFFING WOULD BE BETTER WITH BREAD CUBES RATHER THAN BREAD CRUMBS. THE GRAVY WAS AWESOME. EACH CHOP WAS ABOUT ONE POUND SO PURCHASE ONLY ONE CHOP PER PERSON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Absolutely Amazing!! Just sat down after everyone left and had to write a review. Thank you first of all foe the recipe. I made an 18 rib roast, cooked it for 1 1/2 hours then stuffed it and covered the stuffing as directed. I cooked it for 1 hour and then removed it from the pan and placed it on a cutting board wrapped in tinfoil for about 20-25 mins. I then poured the broth and vermouth reduction into the roasting pan and put the bacon and flour in it. I poured it through a strainer to prevent lumps. The roast was so moist aand the gravy was delicious. I did not use chestnuts in the stuffing not a big fan. The stuffing was delicious. Moist and flavorful!! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazenfree
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
The crown roast turned out delicious. We made the stuffing separate from the roast and found that it was a bit dry (I'd probably make a different stuffing next time), but the gravy was so yummy it helped make the stuffing tolerable. Perhaps the stuffing would be better in the roast (maybe that's why they call it stuffing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this recipe on Christmas Eve this year and it was AMAZING! Everyone loved it - it was so moist and the stuffing was delich and not at all dry. I will save this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Journeyman
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Wow! I'm just a husband but I spent all day making this. I only changed it by substituting onion salt for real onion (onion allergy) and deleting the chestnuts (nut allergy). I was so proud of this meal. It looked so delicious, smelled as good as it looked, and the taste was the best. Thank you. It was a great cooking experience for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This was my first attempt at making a crown roast, it was fabulous and much easier to make than I expected! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States