Crostini with Mozzarella and Tomato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Was a party hit,easy to make,quick and also used mint leaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Very easy to make. I use bottled minced garlic, which I mixed in with the tomatoes (fresh from the garden). There is a similar recipe in Bon Appetit from August 2012 that uses fresh oregano and feta in place of the basil and mozzarella. That is also quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Took this to a party and everyone loved it. Was the very first thing to be finished by everyone. Very easy to make and very yummy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Uninspired by this recipe. Calls for too much cheese which overpowers other flavors. Needs enhancements as other posters recommend, ie. balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
so simple but so tasty. i like to make a balsamic reduction to drizzle over the top, which does take this dish over the top. 4 cups balsamic and a 1\4 cup molasses cook down until thick and coat back o spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These weren't bad, but I probably won't make this version again. I think caprese is better without toast (more of a delicacy), otherwise a typical bruschetta is more appealing if a baguette is being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Not a whole lot of discussion or analysis required on this one. It's classic, authentic and delicious. This is like a staple in our house (once crostini is topped with something it becomes bruschetta, and this recipe is your basic bruschetta). We have this often, generally as an appetizer before dinner. No need to measure - top it to your liking. Fresh, good quality ingredients will make or break this treat. Also, the bread can be grilled rather than broiled, on either an indoor or outdoor grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
What a hit this was. My mother-in-law (!) drizzled a few more drops of olive oil but that only made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by encourager

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coram, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I keep going back to this and similar recipes for bruschetta and am pretty set on what works best for me. I use Iowa-grown Graddy's or garden-fresh roma tomatoes, fresh basil (chopped or torn), fresh pressed garlic cloves, equal parts balsamic vinegar and quality extra virgin olive oil, and a sprinkle of onion powder, mixed and served cold over warm bread out of the oven. I've tried adding the tomato mixture and baking it altogether in the oven, but the bread can get soggy. So I prefer to spoon the topping on afterward, adding cheese directly to the bread before toasting or finishing by topping with chilled fresh mozzarella. :) About to try it tonight on texas toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very good bruchetta. I thought it was a little heavy on the garlic, but I may have just had very fresh garlic. Adding balsalmic vinegar is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States