Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
We did this with a bit stronger aged whitish cheddar (Smith Bros). Looks like a lot of oil on the pan at first, but the mid/high heat works out. The batter was perfect amount for 2 sandwiches even though the recipe seems to make 3. Cut sandwiches into 6 pieces, oven-baked (350F 5 min) to dry a bit, then ate by-the-hand. Wife loved it, easier to make than other recipes, tastes relatively (French-Canadian) authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very good. Even my picky husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Really good. Great for a table top griddle. 4 sandwiches fit it perfectly. Served with a side caesar salad. I tweak the condiments a bit to personal taste. Good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Geving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
i made it exactly as recipe called for and it came out pretty bland and too mushy inside. i give it 4 stars after a 2nd try. i omitted the butter and mayo inside the sandwich. i kept the batter as is and after i browned both sides, i sprinkled parm cheese on top and broiled for a few minutes until outside was golden brown. i liked the extra cripyness outside. i have never had the real french version so i doubt my version meets the criteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Authentic or not, still mighty tasty sandwich. I don't keep white bread in the house, so I used wheat. I did not use vegetable oil to fry them in, instead I used a little butter in the hot pan. These came out really well--even though it was a bit tricky getting it battered and into the pan and they were a bit greasy. Next time, I'll just cook my sandwiches on the tabletop griddle and skip the extra calories. We had our sandwiches with tomato soup. Nice, comforting lunch. The kids especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Nothing special but a good snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
If you're looking for an authentic, French-cafe croque-monsieur, this is not it. It is, however, absolutely delicious, quite filling without being fattening, and definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
While I give it a "yum" this is far more like a monte christo (egg coated like french toast) than a croque monsieur (grilled). Check both recipes to see which it is you are in the mood for. My preference is too avoid the sprinkled sugar and jam traditional with monte christos. Love the cheese sauce on the traditional croque monsieur and madame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Awesome easy recipe. I left off the mayo and salt and used whole wheat bread. Huge hit with the hubs and 3 year old. I have made this numerous times and usually different ways and it always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
4 1/2 stars, very rich,next time might eliminate the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States