Croque-Monsieur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Really good. Great for a table top griddle. 4 sandwiches fit it perfectly. Served with a side caesar salad. I tweak the condiments a bit to personal taste. Good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
i made it exactly as recipe called for and it came out pretty bland and too mushy inside. i give it 4 stars after a 2nd try. i omitted the butter and mayo inside the sandwich. i kept the batter as is and after i browned both sides, i sprinkled parm cheese on top and broiled for a few minutes until outside was golden brown. i liked the extra cripyness outside. i have never had the real french version so i doubt my version meets the criteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Authentic or not, still mighty tasty sandwich. I don't keep white bread in the house, so I used wheat. I did not use vegetable oil to fry them in, instead I used a little butter in the hot pan. These came out really well--even though it was a bit tricky getting it battered and into the pan and they were a bit greasy. Next time, I'll just cook my sandwiches on the tabletop griddle and skip the extra calories. We had our sandwiches with tomato soup. Nice, comforting lunch. The kids especially liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Nothing special but a good snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
If you're looking for an authentic, French-cafe croque-monsieur, this is not it. It is, however, absolutely delicious, quite filling without being fattening, and definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
While I give it a "yum" this is far more like a monte christo (egg coated like french toast) than a croque monsieur (grilled). Check both recipes to see which it is you are in the mood for. My preference is too avoid the sprinkled sugar and jam traditional with monte christos. Love the cheese sauce on the traditional croque monsieur and madame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Awesome easy recipe. I left off the mayo and salt and used whole wheat bread. Huge hit with the hubs and 3 year old. I have made this numerous times and usually different ways and it always comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
4 1/2 stars, very rich,next time might eliminate the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Make something very similar ...... but the best thing is ...... use your foreman grill ...... eliminates the greasiness .. gives a nice golden brown slightly crunchy crust .......soft melty center ....perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
delicious, easy to make and very filling! I really recommend, to give it a bit of a more serious tone, to put gruyere cheese with a bit of salami. And to make it a little more complex, for a brunch or something you can change the bread, anything that is not too thick and that you can use for a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Quick Quiche

This dense, flavorful quiche doesn't need a crust to be a brunch star.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States