Crookneck Squash and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This recipe did not work for me. The cooking time is so short the dish never got heated all the way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
HOMEMADE PIZZA! After baking your crust, spread thin layer of pesto, sprinkle pine nuts, then add the tomatoes, yellow squash with scallions and dressing (just as it is in the recipe), top with some fresh mozarrella. Even my picky 15 year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I didn't think the receipe sounded that good but tried it anyway and really enjoyed it. However, I did alter it and thought I really improved it. I diced the squash, added more chopped green onions and put the sauce on top of it all in the casserole dish. I baked the squash until it was almost tender, took it out of oven and mixed the squash to make sure it was all coated with the sauce. I then put the sliced tomatoes on top of the squash and sprinkled a little (about 1 T total) black current balsamic vinegar on top of the tomatoes. I then added croutons on top of the whole casserole and baked about 10 minutes more until the tomatoes were slightly cooked. The black current balsamic vinegar and croutons added a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was so good! I used zucchini instead of yellow squash and yellow onion instead of green and it turned out fabulous! I added 8 garlic cloves to it, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this my husband who loves squash and tomatoes mixed together. I can't go there myself. But he loved it. I only used one fairly large yellow squash and one tomato cut into chunks but I used the full measure of sauce. I had no green onions so I left them out completely. I don't know if I cut the squash too large but it did have to cook longer than 15 minutes for the squash to be done. I'll probably be making it again. Thanks for the healthy squash recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Fantastic! My family loves it. I used red onions instead of green and yellow mustard instead of dijon and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We have an overabundance of squash & tomatoes thanks to my CSA & home garden. This is a FANTASTIC way to get us out of our squash rut. Unbelievably easy and uber tasty! I used diced yellow onions instead of green, and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I really like these, and there are so many ways to tweak it to make it ones own! This is a good, basic recipe, and you can add or subtract ingredients as you see fit. I have always made this recipe with zucchini, but yellow squash works just as well :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Wonderful flavor. I was desperate one night & realized this can easily be done stove top. I mixed the sauce together with the exception of the olive oil & put tomatoes into it. Then sauteed the squash seasoned with salt & pepper in the olive oil until it was almost done. Added the tomatoes & green onion until just softened. Was ready in less than 12 minutes. I do love the oven version too, but sometimes forget about my veggies or someone shows up & I need extra so I have to compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My picky kids ate it and requested seconds. DH and I liked it (and I hate zucchini). This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States