Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Be careful when selecting your flour. Higher protein flours (like bread flour)absorb more water. If you use something with less protein (bleached all-purpose, cake flour...) you'll need to add more flour to keep it from getting soupy. Use cold butter and work fast so it won't get greasy. You want a thin blanket of butter beneath each layer of dough to build the flaky layers. If your butter melts, it will incorporate with the dough and saturate it. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made these three days ago and am starting another batch today. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle but added 1/4 cup more flour as the dough was so soft it stayed on top of the paddle and was about to come out of the pan when mixing. The extra flour helped greatly. After the first rise I took the paddle out and let it rise again in the then turned off machine as it was nice and warm inside. My kitchen was very cold that day. I also didn't let the butter get soft enough, so just sliced it and put it on. This worked out great. Being a retired Grandma, I had all day to play with this. I made them quite small. I got 24 total. I made half one day and let the remainder wrapped in plastic for two days in the fridge. Baked the remainder yesterday and they were fabulous. Hubby loved them. WARNING. Do not bake these on a pizza pan with holes. Smoke from burned butter is not a good thing. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
The first time I tried this recipe, I completely messed it up, but I decided to give it another try, and they turned out perfect, and tasted just like real French croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Well, I made Croissants before for my French class my senior year in highschool. I am now a junior in College and felt the urge to make them again. I did and didn't follow this recipe. I was surprised as to how much flour to use..very little. The butter was accurate because Croissants are buttery. I remember heating one in the microwave andit turned into a glob of oil and dough. Nonetheless i took me five hours less by placing my dough in the freezer for a half an hour three times and also letting the dough rise one time instead of twice. I looked on lot of different websites to see not only the technique but the purpose of each ingredient. I semi-froze my butter and than just squeezed it in the palm of my hand it was perfect to place in each the dough. My croissants turned out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I used salted butter and cut the salt in half. I also used an instant yeast that cut the time needed for rising. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
After trying 4 different croissant recipes with no sucess, this one worked!! The croissants were light, flaky and tastes great. I used a little more flour as well used pastry four instead of all-purpose. It made them a little more lighter. I cheated too and made the dough in the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2001
it doesn't turn out like a croissant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I was disappointed with the results of this recipe. The croissants turned out greasy and extremely salty. I know croissants are difficult to make, but I don't think this was due to my inexperience. However, I did make one change, and I think it's only fair to tell you about it - I used a chilled cheese slicer to slice the butter thinly, and I placed the thin slices on the rolled out dough, then mashed slightly with my fingers to soften the butter and make it malleable. I did this because I didn't think there would be any way for me to handle the butter according to the recipe without melting it. I have since read in other recipes that you are supposed to smash the butter with a rolling pin and roll it between two towels. Anyway, after all that work and anticipation, I will probably end up throwing these out. I just don't like the flavour at all. They taste like greasy French toast. They do have a nice crispy outside and a tender inside, though. If I were to make these again, I'd decrease the salt to 1 teaspoon, and I'd decrease the butter by 2-3 tablespoons. The croissants were actually frying in the butter while baking, and that was a bit gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This is a great recipe! The rolls came out tender and buttery on the inside and crisp and flaky on the outside. I have made these twice now and my family and I love them. It is well woth the work you have to put into them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe can be much easier and quicker. Made the dough with KitchenAid using 4 3/4 cups flour and skipping the oil for a DOUBLE batch. Only used 2 tsp salt. This works for me: Follow steps 1 and 2 but skip second rise. Deflate and chill 20 minutes (or overnight). Slice chilled butter into 18 slices with a cheese slicer. Working with half the dough at a time (which is 12 croissants), roll dough into a 8 x 12 inch rectangle. (Put remaining butter and dough in refrigerator to keep cold.) Lay half the butter (9 slices) over top two thirds, leaving 1/2 inch margin all around. Fold unbuttered third over middle third, and buttered top third down over that. Seal edges. **Turn 90°, so that folds are to left and right. Roll out to a long rectangle. Fold in three again. Roll again, and fold again. (That's folding 3 times.)## (Flour surface if dough becomes sticky but excess flour will prevent dough from sticking to itself.) Put dough in a plastic bag. Freeze for 20 min. and refrigerate for 40 min. Unwrap and repeat from ** to ##. Immediately roll and shape dough. Let rise 2-3 hrs, covered, at room temp (it's winter and my kitchen isn't really warm). (Egg wash is important for appearance.) Bake on baking stone for 15 min. at 425°F. Remove to cool. (Croissants will seem doughy until completely cool.) Start to finish 4 hrs 15 min. 1 star recipe as written. OUTSTANDING recipe with some tweaks. Guests didn't know I made them until I told them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States