Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These are fantastic, they take a heckuva long time to make, but are so worth the effort! Thanks for clearing up the mystery behind making them...they are actually not that complicated at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I was very impressed with this recipe. Though time-consuming, this recipe produces a pretty great croissant! Mine BURNED, so next time, I will need to cook for just a minute or two less. But otherwise, delicious and very decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These were delicious! I made one batch as written and then made a second batch and put chocolate chips in before rolling up. My husband was in heaven! When in France he loves chocolate croissants and now he is excited that I can also make them at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Turned out really well, recipe was easy to follow, and the flavour was really good. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was my first attempt and my results were average. I had a feeling it was the recipe and not me. The dough in this recipe is to stiff/ hard to roll out and did not rise. I found another recipe and used part cake flour, increased sugar; increased yeast;increased butter and used half and half for the final wash and used 2 overnight refrigerator proofs and the results came out PERFECT! Exactly like the kind you buy in the small bakeries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollygolightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe can be much easier and quicker. Made the dough with KitchenAid using 4 3/4 cups flour and skipping the oil for a DOUBLE batch. Only used 2 tsp salt. This works for me: Follow steps 1 and 2 but skip second rise. Deflate and chill 20 minutes (or overnight). Slice chilled butter into 18 slices with a cheese slicer. Working with half the dough at a time (which is 12 croissants), roll dough into a 8 x 12 inch rectangle. (Put remaining butter and dough in refrigerator to keep cold.) Lay half the butter (9 slices) over top two thirds, leaving 1/2 inch margin all around. Fold unbuttered third over middle third, and buttered top third down over that. Seal edges. **Turn 90°, so that folds are to left and right. Roll out to a long rectangle. Fold in three again. Roll again, and fold again. (That's folding 3 times.)## (Flour surface if dough becomes sticky but excess flour will prevent dough from sticking to itself.) Put dough in a plastic bag. Freeze for 20 min. and refrigerate for 40 min. Unwrap and repeat from ** to ##. Immediately roll and shape dough. Let rise 2-3 hrs, covered, at room temp (it's winter and my kitchen isn't really warm). (Egg wash is important for appearance.) Bake on baking stone for 15 min. at 425°F. Remove to cool. (Croissants will seem doughy until completely cool.) Start to finish 4 hrs 15 min. 1 star recipe as written. OUTSTANDING recipe with some tweaks. Guests didn't know I made them until I told them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Amazing. I put mini-areo bars in it to make chocolate ones. My husband loves me for this :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I didn't know baking croissants would take so much time! But this recipe is good. I made a few change, I let the dough chill 1 hour after every fold, then let the croissants rise 1 hour before baking, and baked at 450F. The croissants turned out flaky, and crunchy, and good! But somehow they were a little bit salty, I'll reduce the amount of salt next time. Anyway, it worths all the waiting and rolling ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now - they are excellent!! If you want them bigger then at the last part don't cut dough again but the recipe will only make 6. I made 3 recipes at once (separate bowls) and added chocolate chips before I rolled them up then the next time I added blueberry pie filling to some and cherry to others - OH MY!! The second time making them goes much quicker - this whole process takes almost 8 hours but you can cut it down by putting the dough in the freezer for about 20 minutes then the fridge for 40 instead of the fridge for 2 hours. Also, I only used a stick of butter/recipe instead of 2/3 cup and that was plenty....not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Did not come out right at all... tasted like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuisineGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States