Croissants Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kayjayne
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Delicious!!! I definitely used more flour (about 3/4 C to the doubled recipe), just enough that the dough formed a ball in the mixer. Having a tough time deciding the best way to eat these ... Plain, strawberry jelly -- or baked with chocolate or Swiss cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Great recipe but using the temperature in the recipe burned the bottoms of them. I cooked the remaining batch at 350 with no problems. They are very buttery and flaky. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe. Though it does not yield bakery style croissants, I was pretty impressed with the result. The outside was flaky and and inside was moist. Mom usually doesn't approve my bread skills but this time she was impressed and my family devoured all of them within hours. I altered the recipe a bit, added a 1/4 more sugar and used half and half in place of milk. I will definitely make this again! TIPS: #1: Make sure the dough is chilled while you roll and fold them. The butter pops out of the layers if the dough gets warm. #2: I flattened the butter into a slab using wax/parchment paper and placed the chilled slab it on the dough, less mess and beautiful layers. #3: opt for half and half instead of milk or half milk and half of halfnhalf tastes richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suraiya onnesha

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I've made them twice now, exactly by the recipe, and they've turned out great both times. Light and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
WOW!! First time making croissants. Delish!! Will do all the prep work the day before and do the final roll the next day for guests next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Brtek-Gagner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fosston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mentor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This turns out great. The biggest thing to remember is to keep everything (EVERYTHING) as cold as you possibly can. The dough should be very sticky right after you add your yeast, milk & oil, and still pretty sticky after the 2nd raise. However, after chilling the dough properly, it will become less sticky and more workable. Chill your counter, your rolling pin, your dough, your hands, everything. I even took the dough outside and working it in a very cold area (winter - wyoming) to keep it cold. The key is to not let your butter soften up to where it will push out when you are rolling it from in between the layers of dough. If properly (extremely) chilled, you will not have to use much flour to keep things from sticking. But it is okay if you do, I have used much flour with this recipe and it still works fine. Party on Wayne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
First time making croissants. Watched videos on making them and used this recipe. They came out PERFECT! I used my bread machine. I make these twice a week!! Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Rizzitano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cherryfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Quick tip for the butter - make sure it's cold and when it comes time to flatten it out put it between two sheets of parchment paper and beat it with your rolling pin until you can roll it out. Make sure not to break through the paper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is the best croissant recipe! Flaky, buttery, goodness in every bite. The trick is keeping the dough COLD. If not you'll end up with a big, greasy, mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetroMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by diva7
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
These came out awesome! I too made the dough inmy bread machine and added about 1/4c extra flour for two batches. I used the cheese slicer method for the butter, but somehow it worked out that I didn't use all the butter, but they came out fine. Crispy outside and flaky inside! Wonderful!! Tip:: I found this one online, after forming the croissants I place a cup of boiled water in the middle of the pan and covered with a towel and bit of plastic wrap and let rise 45 min before baking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States