Crock Pot or Slow Cooked Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I think a flank steak needs to be grilled/broiled, I did not like the texture of this cut of meat in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I cooked this in my dutch oven, and my oven runs a little hot, so I used 1 cup of liquids instead. I used the crock pot to dutch oven conversion to come up with 2 hours at 325 instead of 8 hours on low (you can look this up on the internet). My husband loved it, and it was not too dry. I did use vegetable broth instead of water. It was very similar to a pot roast. I'll be trying these ingredients out with a pot roast next to see how different the meats taste. And yes, it makes it stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe was delicious and steak tender. The time is very wrong. I cooked on low for four hours. I also rubbed the steak with steak seasoning instead of just salt and proper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was to much meat falling off the bone. My first time cooking in a crock pot! I'll add vegetable later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe *3* stars. Would like you to know, though, the meat was absolutely melt in your mouth tender. The carrot, though, tasted nasty, even my husband mentipned how bad it was. I would recommend leaving out carrot (cook on stove instead), then if you choose to add to dish when all done cooking, do so. Sorry for not so good review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PPLMommy
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Made it completely according to the recipe...EXCEPT on LOW, not high..... it was PERFECT. Juicy, cut with a spoon, better than a Pot Roast..PERFECT!!!!! My kids gobbled it down, my husband raved, my foodie sister freaked!!! This will go in the all-star recipe file!!! (I did cut the steak up into 4 ounce pieces, and stirred everything up every 2 hours or so)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This turned out great! I would add more onions and carrots next time. The cook time is off. I cooked about 2.7 lbs of flank steak in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. It was tender considering the type of meat, and cooked to perfection. DEFINITELY do not cook on high for 8 hours! I was at home and was able to keep an eye on it. The taste was perfect. This was my first time cooking flank steak and would probably just buy chuck roast next time because it is more of a tender cut and is cheaper from what I can tell. Not sure of the benefit of flank over chuck. Taste wise, not overpowering, but throw in some extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karasmattic
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
After i made this, i decided that Flank Steak is one thing that DEFINATLY should NOT be made in a slow cooker. I think you're better off just marinading for a couple hours then making it in the oven or on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Since this is the first time I have made this recipe, I followed the directions exactly. That was a mistake. I'm sure the cooking time is off. * hours on high for a 3 lb piece of meat produced a stringy mess. Parts of it had to be discarded because they were impossible to chew. Maybe this would work on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States