Crock Pot Cheesy Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
White wine or chicken broth can be used in place of the cooking sherry. (Might want to use low-salt or homemade chicken stock, as the cream-of soups can be a bit salty.) To stretch this further, add a sliced onion and another can of mushrooms. This is a very cost-effective recipe I make in the crockpot often, varying the ingredients I have in my pantry. Chicken can be bought marked down and most of the ingredients called for can be bought at a discount grocery store or the dollar store. It's great for energy conservation as the crockpot costs less to power than your stove. I like it over mashed potatoes, kids like it on rice or over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I changed a few things on this recipe. I left off the celery flakes and instead of canned mushrooms I chopped up fresh ones. I added a chopped onion which I sauteed with garlic and the mushrooms before I added it to the soup mix. As an afterthought I added some rosemary (didn't measure) and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I couldn't find anyone who sold celery flakes, so I used parsley flakes instead. I also added some rosemary as one of the other reviewers suggested, and doubled the garlic (never can have enough garlic in my opinion). It turned out very nice. The sherry gives it a nice rich edge. Served it over brown rice. A nice dish that I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I thought this was really good, although I have made a variation of this recipe in the oven for years, and use mozzarella for it, and decided to use it instead of parm in this recipe. Just put the mozzarella cheese in about 30 mins before serving, and just a touch of parm (after it's plated), and it is great. Just a suggestion for all of you who aren't fans of the sherry & parm together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I browned 1/4 C. onion and 1 clove garlic on medium heat. Browned the breasts in Basil & Garlic Grapeseed oil. Used cream of celery in lieu of chicken soup. Added extra shrooms and 1 t. rubbed sage. It all added up to one very fine dining experience!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this the other night and got pretty good reviews with it. I left out the sherry and parmesan but put some parmesan on mine after it was on my plate. It was in the crockpot for about 9 hours and was so tender it was falling apart perfectly. I served it over chicken noodles and got requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Moo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I personally played a lot with this one. I read the reviews and took some ideas from those. Instead of the cream of chicken soup and celery flakes I used one can of cream of celery soup and instead of cream of mushroom soup I used 2 cans of roasted garlic and mushroom soup. I used fresh garlic and I used a little extra because..well Im a fan haha. I am also a cheese lover so there was a little extra parm and I threw some mozz in there too. I had fun with it. It came out amazing! The chicken fell completely apart and my friends were really wow'ed. Im not a cook so this was a huge victory for me! Thank you so much for this amazing recipe it was a great crowd pleaser and I plan to make it again very soon! To all that give a negative review...play with it a little. Add some of your favorite stuff if the flavor wasnt good enough for you. Its a great way to learn what you like and build your own recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
made as written. Chicken was dry. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This recipe was ok. My family enjoyed it enough. It was very bland though. Next time I will add more spices. Good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This wasn't the best, but it tased just fine for my husband, 2 neighbors, and myself. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States