Crock Pot Cheesy Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I made this recipe with a whole chicken, cut-up and browned in a skillet, 2 large portabello mushrooms (gills scraped out), sliced and sauted with garlic, and fresh shitake mushrooms. After removing the chicken pieces, I stirred in 3 Tbsp mixed with a little water to thicken the juice into a gravy. I left out the parma cheese. The chicken was very tender but the gravy was very bland and I couldn't taste even a hint of the sherry. Perhaps the parma cheese is the key ingredient that adds the flavor the dish lacked? It really needed salt and some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I thought this was really good, although I have made a variation of this recipe in the oven for years, and use mozzarella for it, and decided to use it instead of parm in this recipe. Just put the mozzarella cheese in about 30 mins before serving, and just a touch of parm (after it's plated), and it is great. Just a suggestion for all of you who aren't fans of the sherry & parm together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I browned 1/4 C. onion and 1 clove garlic on medium heat. Browned the breasts in Basil & Garlic Grapeseed oil. Used cream of celery in lieu of chicken soup. Added extra shrooms and 1 t. rubbed sage. It all added up to one very fine dining experience!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by derSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this the other night and got pretty good reviews with it. I left out the sherry and parmesan but put some parmesan on mine after it was on my plate. It was in the crockpot for about 9 hours and was so tender it was falling apart perfectly. I served it over chicken noodles and got requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Moo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
a little soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Clutter Laurence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
has potential to be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
The first time I made this, I accidentally waited too late in the morning so wound up baking it in the oven. My husband LOVED it and the boys (7 & 12) thought it was okay. I thought it was very tasty. Made it in the crock a couple days ago; yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
We did not like this at all. The flavors just didn't seem to go good together, it may be that it was too much wine compared to the other ingredients. Plus the parm and the wine flavors weren't good together. It was definitely easy, and for that I give it some stars, but we didn't like the flavor. We won't be making it again, thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
We did not care for the flavors in this at all. Parmesan cheese with sherry?! Leave THOSE out, then it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was real good. The only thing I would do differently is lay off the celery flakes a bit. Other than that it was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissyg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Cadet, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States