Critter Fritter Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is a really good recipe! I was looking for something new to make from ground beef and decided to try this. I read other reviews and put some cheese on the meat layer before pouring the cornbread mixture over it and it held together a little better. I used Jiffy cornbread mix and added a tbsp of sugar to it since my hubby prefers sweet cornbread. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
One of the easiest casseroles ever. I added a few more jalapenos and wow was it spicy. But very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really good! Mine turned out a little dry but I think that is because I used Veal instead of Beef and there isn't as much fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Easy to cook and really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Easy to make and it tastes good. I added the cheese before the corn mix and forked down a bit once I poured the cornbread mixture on and it all stuck together once baked. I thought the spice was very balanced. Leftovers were good too. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made recipe just as stated. I think it too dry although it had a good flavor. I wonder if you added a little cream soup to the meat I wonder if that would work. Might try again with that, but not as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very dry! Meat was crumbly & didn't hold to the top crust. Good flavor, but not very good texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This has become one of our favorite house hold meals. I even have co-workers asking me for this recipe when I am eating my leftovers at work, just because it looks and smells so good. The catchy name helps too, I think!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wonderfully satisfying and delicious. Following the lead of other reviewers basically doubled the seasonings, mixed half the cheese in with the fried meat, used 1 cup of left over buttermilk in the cornbread to make it thinner so it would hold the meat together better. What this dish lacks in eye appeal (meat still fell apart somewhat) it easily makes up for in deliciousness. Great Flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe was awesome! I only made one change (well, besides following the instructions from the other comments about putting the cheese directly on top of the ground beef), I used green chiles instead of jalapenos - wasn't quite as spicy as it could have been. We served it with sour cream - I think we'll add a bed of lettuce next time. I'm also wondering if I reduce the amount of ground beef and substitute some refried beans, if the flavor would change drastically or if it would just help hold the bottom together a little more. My daughter wasn't crazy about the corn bread part (but she's not a bread eater) but loved the meat. Oh, and, instead of using a boxed mix of corn bread, I mixed up 1/2 of a batch of "Homesteader Cornbread" (it's another favorite recipe of ours from allrecipes) and poured that on top - absolutely delish!! Thank you for your wonderful creation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black River, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Vincent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States