Crispy Zucchini or Pumpkin Blossoms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Very tasty. I would like to comment that this is the first time I've ever eaten zucchini, yellow squash, and pumpkin blossoms but I know it will not be my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Excellent summer snack! My grandmother is originally from Benevento, Italy and has a similar recipe for these. She says only to use the female blossom, but I didn't ask why & I don't know how to tell the difference. Perfect with a bit of salt on them, some cheese and wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I'm also from an italian family and grew up with this great recipe. Also told not to use the males. They're the ones with the zucchini growing from them. The female flowers will only have a stem. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I have been eating Pumpkins Blossoms since I was a kids some 40 years ago. I am not from Italy and have no idea where this originated. I use flour and cornmeal (2 to 1) and season it with garlic, red pepper, salt dip them in egg and mile first and fry them in Butter flavored crisco. i general pick blossoms every morning, rinse and store on a plate with a paper towel in layers in the frigerator for a few days till i get enough for a mess. Also, cook only half done and put them in the freezer, then in the winter you can put them in the oven till crisp and you can enjoy them all season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Love them. This was our first try with pumpkin blossoms. I used Asiago cheese as that's all I had. It was great!! I have made them several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Ever cry when eating food? Yup! These are perfect for so many reasons!! My Nonna would send me into her garden looking for male flowers. She’d make these every summer on an old stove in the garage (I’ve never figured out why this was an ‘outdoor only’ type food, her version of a BBQ maybe?). When she passed – the recipe went with her. Seeing as I couldn’t recall what was involved in these ‘petigella’ (spelling?), I checked on allrecipes. Though it’s not exact, it brought back a flood of memories for me. Domenica, thank you for the memories! These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liana

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I grew up eating these too (my dad is Italian) and back then (the 70's) other people thought it was weird. I love them. I think the blossoms are better than the zucchinis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
These are so yummy!!! I had to add a little extra water as the batter seemed too thick. We dipped them in marinara sauce and my kids all LOVED them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
a great recipe... I've been using a variety of this for years. but use beer instead of water and add paprika to give it a little red tint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinky Monkey Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahwah, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Such a great way to get more out of the garden. I used pumpkin and squash blossoms. Also, I subbed goat cheese for the parmesan, and added some chopped jalapeno to give it a little kick. Also, I dredged it in flour, raw egg and panko instead of the batter. They were crispy, gooey, spicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unsightly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States